Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

2267 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
183 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
Dan.C, 09.11.2019
Had this mic for over a year and so far, I am astounded on how this mic sounds considering its price point. Sure there are better microphones out there but the clarity of the recording is one-of-a-kind.

The only thing I noticed is after a while, you'll notice some parts where the paint bubbles and eventually, the coating chips. Take note that this does not affect the sound quality at all and is very minimal. All-in-all, I am thankful for choosing this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Tespit, 15.08.2019
Rode NT1-A gets 5 out of 5 on build quality, it is sturdy and well-made. It is little heavy for cheap mic stands so make sure you have a good stable stand.. I honestly can't say for how many years it will stay this way but it seems it will probably resist the years of abuse... It picks up a lot of floor noises and wall reflections 'though, it demands proper sound proofing & acoustic treatment in where you record. Once you do that (which I did!) it is pretty noise-free and super clean. But if you don't have any precautions, you end up getting a lot of very ugly mud in the 200-400Hz range and that is something you cannot EQ easily.. Also the cable came with the mic is very good, it is very well balanced and noise-free. This is a very good mic to record vocals and especially acoustic guitars. If you don't have enough money in your bank, you can also try Tascam TM-80 which in many ways very similar to this Rode NT1-A and cheaper... and lighter... My overall for NT1-A: 8/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First Class Service
MattieK, 10.02.2019
My purchase of the Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording set was so easy. Personal attention from Thomann and speedy delivery to the Republic of Ireland - Brexit problem solved... thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High-quality sound with a modest price tag
Rad Rayupov, 26.08.2017
Everybody knows that it is hard to buy mics without any test, but this won't let you down!

This is a great microphone for everyone, who is looking for a high-quality results with a modest price tag. Great quality, very sturdy! Very versatile. It works great on vocals and wide variety of acoustic instruments like pianos, guitars and other strings. Won't give an unnatural color - really clean sounding with lots of detail!

I have had this mic for over a year now (I have two of them now) and I can say over and over: great affordable home studio microphone!
I use this microphone almost everyday (i use this on everything in the studio) and it suits my purposes very well. It sounds like what you put in front of it. It can handle loud sources as well.

It is just like a Premium sounding microphone, and it's like a tank! :) The pop filter, shock mount and and the most important xlr cable are are big bonus.

Have an idea of pros, now about cons. As you may guess, it has only one direction of picking sound (not multi pattern). And sometimes highs are bit harsh (but very rarely). for me that's all.

long story short: it does what it does well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Mic
Lightning Dragon Studios, 11.07.2017
Pros:
Really clear very low noise microphone,
great for capturing high detail recordings,
sounds great on singing vocals and acoustic guitar

Cons:
a bit basic in terms of features as it doesn't have a high pass filter or polar pattern switch,
I would have liked a mic case for it but considering you
get a cable and pop filter with it it's great value

Conclusion:
it's a basic mic but what it does it does exceptionally well it's honestly hard to find fault with it
it's outstanding level of detail and clarity are above anything at this price and rivals mic's several times the cost

i probably wouldn't recommend it for extreme metal or gritty voices as it's a bit too clean sounding but if you're looking to do voiceovers, podcasting or make music involving any kind of singing and want a great tone this might just be the mic you're after, it's clear and pleasing to listen to and has for lack of a better word an "expensive" quality to the sound that most mic's at this price lack, i have more expensive mics but for female singers this is the mic of choice more often than not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Am I the only one?
Lawrence B., 17.06.2016
I sold it. Yeah the biggest selling mic ever. I can see what they're getting at, I expected it to sit alongside a mix vocal-wise ad it did but I found the sound a bit 'soapy'. does that make sense?..and it's also disarmingly light..I would not choose this mic to defend myself with.
Having said all that the presentation and the solid pop filter/cradle etc are superb.
Truth be told I sold all my mid range 150 quiddish mics and got a Neumann TLM 103 and a very decent ribbon mic...and a few decent drum and guitar mics..I got fed up with 'average'..
So now it's 'Do it once, do it good'. Best decision I ever took..expensive..I now live in a cardboard box but I don't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does exactly what it says it will
05.02.2017
The Rode NT1-A is my first "decent" studio mic (swapped out my Superlux 205) so I might not have the experience to fully appreciate it. Nevertheless I can strongly reccommend it to anybody who is looking for a great mic at a budget friendly price.

It had no distortions, no noise, clear and crisp vocals (also tried it on a grand piano and the result was amazing; looking forward to trying it on an acoustic guitar), beautiful to look at and simply a wonderful piece of tech to have in a home studio.

One small thing about the Phantom Power for this microphone as well- it also worked with only 15V Phantom (and the recording sounded smooth as silk). Although as soon as I got the chance to use it with 48V, the results were ten times more amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good value for money
Stefriet, 03.04.2019
I got both the Rode NT1-A and the Shure SM57 LC because I was not sure what would be the best option. My goal is to record music at home. I play a variety of instruments, from deep drums to high tuned thumb pianos. The Rode NT1-A is a clear winner over the Shure SM57 in terms of sound quality. It has a crispness that couldn't be beat, especially on the high tone range instruments. On low range instruments it is a close call. So if you're like me, and not sure which one to get, I would definitely recommend this one.

The Millenium MS 2003, which comes in a bundle with this recording set, is not a good tripod for this microphone and I would recommend getting a slightly more expensive (more stable) one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value
Timinko, 07.11.2019
Used it for all sort of things, including vocals, acoustic guitar and podcasting. Sound wise it may not sit well with all types of voices but for 80% it works great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No brainer..
David.R, 12.09.2019
Those looking for a no-frills, workhorse mic for use in the home studio can't go wrong. Would happily recommend to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
veiga, 04.12.2017
This was my first studio microphone ever had. it's been 2 years since i got my first one, i've received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided to buy it , everything was so fast, i got it a week later or less, since then I've been using it in my home studio, to record different types of genres, and so far everything is good.

Pros:

- For the price you get not only a good mic, but thomann also it cames with a shockmount, a pop-filter which is very useful in recording, because os the p's and b's, And very long cable.

- the Sound quality of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles and white noise

Cons:

- this microphone is actually so perfect that is a little bit difficult for me to find something that i dont like about it, but if it's something that i dont like, is the fact that is hard to know where is the front or the back of it.


SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Satisfied Musician
King Erual, 11.11.2019
This mic is one of my dream in gears. Very much happy for the performance, and output quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wonderful Microphone
Matt36, 12.02.2019
I'm recording my voice for voiceovers, singing etc. And When I'm searching a low-noise level, condenser microphone, I saw the NT1-A. It has very very low, 5db self-noise level, thus I'm not using noise removal plugins. The sound what I'm recording, sounds like TV-quality sound.

Pros:
-5 db self noise-level
-Comes with pop filter & shockmount
-Very suitable for voice overs

Cons:
nothing

If you're looking a microphone for voice overs, (in these budget) you can choose it clearly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry Standard for a Reason!
bsahin, 31.12.2018
This microphone sounds good on my vocals and acoustic guitars, everything I've wanted in one package! Glad that I did buy it!

I've been hearing the name NT1-A so much I had to give it a try and how it is my main vocal microphone. Such a great build quality combined with a great sound...

The single problem I got with the microphone was with the XLR connector, I had such a hard time plugging the cable in, I don't know maybe it could be due to it being plugged for the first time? It resisted so hard that made me worry that I might damage the connector. It worked out just fine, it works perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome One Stop Shop
losforword, 28.01.2019
Use
In my Home Studio

Clarity
It is really awesome mic. Sounds good in Vocal as well as for Acoustic Guitar.

Pros: Super Silent in terms of Noise Level
Cons: Sensitive to room noise. Acoustic treatment in the room might be necessary.

Comprehensibility
Super Solid built quality

Totally Satisfied and worthy purchase
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Low budget mic
TimHei, 14.02.2014
The Rode Nt1-A is a perfect microphone for recording beginner.
The recording bundle is good at it's price/value relation.
You get a microphone with all equipment you need to start recording.
Including a cable, shockmount and pop filter.
The Nt1-A has a brilliant tone resolution, especially high freqeuencies are emphasized.
I use this microphone in my home recording studio for vocals and guitar amp recordings.
I don't like the way the microphone sounds on male vocals, because of the emphasized frequencies. So I just use it for female vocals.
If one would compare this microphone to a Neumann or something else in this price range, he would determine that there is a big difference in sound.
But in the price range from 150-300EUR, personally the Rode Nt1-A is my favorite vocal studio mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best package for the money on the market.
Joe911, 16.05.2013
This is a turnkey system, one which I'm not sure how I managed without.

Frequency response is fabulous, the whole kit is compatible with itself.

One evening when I was setting up recording levels, I wondered what the conversation in the background was, it was some people at a takeaway around a corner from where the recording equipment was installed... that was 40 metres away, through locked doors and windows ! ! !

(I just turned the gain down on the input channels in Cubase to fix it, but what a pleasant surprise).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
very quiet but with agressive highs
MandyK, 21.02.2014
I have used the NT1-A since 2011 and i really liked it for 2 years.

Before i bought the nt1-a i recorded with a studio projects b1 and that was very noise, so i switched to the nt1a. It is really quiet, which is very great. Even very gentle sound sources stay more or less quiet and un-noisy. Great !

As i wrote in the title, after using it for two years, i found out, thaht the highs are very agressive or in other words - harsh - You really have no chances at all, to correct those frequencies with an equalizer or a compressor.

And thats very sad, because except the highs, i really like the rest of the microphone and the package.

You have everything to start from the scratch. Mic, Mic-Clamp with popscreen, mic-cable and a nice dvd with recording tipps.

I wouldn´t buy it again...would search for a more linear mic like the audio technica 2035 or similar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
Marco sem, 27.08.2019
Excellent value for money, clean sound and complete equipment for semi-professional use. A microphone that can't miss in the home of a lover of music and singing. Good frequency response
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
RECOMMENDED x10000
Young-Bin, 19.02.2018
Probably THE best studio condenser mic you can get with less than 200 euros. Some claim it to be better than a lot of mics in the 600-800 euro area (and I dont think it's far-fetched). You get a very warm input which works very well for both male and female voices and for a range of styles. The Shock-mount and pop-filter is also of awesome quality! RODE Really knows what they are doing! Even some Professional studios use these mics for some applications. RECOMMENDED x10000
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$147 €133.61
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(15)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ram's Head Big Muff Fuzz

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Fuzz, A faithful reproduction of the popular 1973 V2 Violet Ram's Head Big Muff Pi sound, Controls: Volume, Tone, Sustain, True bypass, LED: Effect on, Footswitch: Effect bypass, Input: 6.3 mm jack,...

Recently Viewed
Boss Katana 100 Head MKII

Boss Katana 100 Head MKII, electric guitar head, 100 Watts, 5 amp types: Clean, Crunch, Lead, Brown & Acoustic, newly voiced variations for each, Five independent effects sections (Booster, Mod, FX, Delay, and Reverb), with three selectable variations in each,...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series

Electric guitar Body: Lime tree, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Double-action truss rod, 22 Frets, Pickups: 1 Humbucker (bridge) and 2...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Airplay Guitar ULG10

2.4 GHz Wireless System for Guitar 4 Channels, Plug & Play, Ultra-low latency of approx. 5 ms, Built-in 750 mAh lithium battery with up to 6.5 hours life, Maximum range: 30 m, Frequency response: 20-16,0000 Hz, Auto Sleep /...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Traktor S3

4-Channel DJ Controller and Audio Interface Sample Rate / Resolution: 24-Bit / 44.1 / 48 kHz, 2 Large 14 cm precision jog wheels, Illuminated jog-wheel rings for visual feedback, including deck selection, 16 RGB pads for triggering hot cues,...

Recently Viewed
Steinberg UR816C

16x16 USB 3.0 Audio Interface with iPad Connectivity 32-Bit integer / 192 kHz, 8 Class-A D-PRE mic preamp with +48 V phantom power, Latency-free DSP-assisted monitoring with REV-X Reverb, Channel Strip and Guitar Amp Classics - also included as...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Death Metal

Toontrack EZX Death Metal (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded by Mark Lewis at the Sonic Ranch in Tornillo / Texas; contains 2 complete drum sets, optimized...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Mike Johnston Groove Cowbell

Meinl Mike Johnston Signature Groove Cowbell, MJGB, vintage steel finish, optimized for using in acoustic drum setups, including 2 magnetic dampers for changing the cowbells decay,

Recently Viewed
Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty

Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty; vocal synthesizer and sampler; integrated microphone for sampling; 120 seconds sampling time; 8 voice characters; 8 effects; parameter lock (2 parameters per sound); 16-step sequencer; 16 patterns; "Lock Tab" write protection for patterns; transpose...

Recently Viewed
Boss DD-3T Digital Delay

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Digital delay, New function - Delay tempi adjustable via the onboard switch or external footswitch, True bypass, Controls: Level, Feedback, Time, Mode, Effect on LED, Footswitch: Effect Bypass, Current consumption: 45 mA, Power supply...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.