Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
$149
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
e
Ok for beginners but there are better options for less.
emememem 02.01.2020
These are well advertised as "THE" home studio mic.
Firstly. I would instead recommend something like the Audio Technica AT2020, or the AKG c3000. Both very good mics for the money, and both feel much more robust than this thing.

Pros: fine for modern pop vocal sound, very pronounced high end.
Not awful as an overhead.
Visually, it looks pretty good.
sounds fine as an acoustic guitar mic.

Cons: Very harsh around 3k.
a strange problem that I had with this mic, more than any other condenser i've owned, is that it's extremely moisture and temperature sensitive, if it's anyways cold or damp, it just refuses to work.

The shockmount that comes with it is pretty brittle, the attached pop filter snapped off within about 3 months.

I say your money would be much better spend buying an At2020, a good universal shock mount and a pop filter.
Also, definitely bear in mind that a lot of the five star reviews here are from people who might never have owned a condenser before. Take it from someone who's no expert, but has tried every budget mic under the sun, your money is much better spent on something else.
features
sound
quality
48
10
Report

Report

is
Not as good as they say.
ilia sokolov 22.01.2022
I have many microphones of the same class. Rod points out and is proud of the noise level of 5 dB. So, this is the noisiest microphone I have. This is not a marriage. But he background noise is louder than AT2035 with 12 db. At the same time, the mouth is much louder than it is indicated in the specifications. They write that the sensitivity of the microphone is 16 millivolts, but in fact it is almost 25 in comparison with competitors. The microphone is made of high quality, an excellent spider and kit, looks cool and it's nice to use. The sound itself is too high-pitched and caustic, as it turned out, everyone is talking about it, it doesn't seem to me. I didn't have enough detail in the middle frequencies, as well as a calm transmission of hissing. I bought myself another microphone. But I'll leave this one too. The store's service is just great.

У меня много микрофонов одного класса. Род указывает и гордится уровнем шума в 5 дб. Так вот, это самый шумный микрофон из всех что есть у меня. Это не брак. Но он фоновый шум громче АТ2035 с 12 дб. При этом рот сильно громче, чем это указано в спецификациях. Род пишут что чувствительность микрофона 16 милливольт, а на самом деле она почти 25 в сравнении с конкурентами. Микрофон сделан качественно, отличный паук и комплект, круто выглядит и им приятно пользоваться. Сам по себе звук слишком верхастый и едкий, об этом как оказалось говорят все, это не мне кажется. Мне не хватило детализации в средних частотах, а также спокойной передачи шипящих. Я купил себе другой микрофон. Но и этот оставлю. Сервис магазина просто великолепен.
features
sound
quality
2
3
Report

Report

MD
Incredibly great. Quality at a great price, highly reccomended
MR Deano 19.12.2021
Purchased this microphone after using one in a studio for vocals, drum overheads, piano and guitar acoustic and electric. With the right pre-amp this micprophone is pretty faultless and has been a workhorse microphone for vocals on major productions.

Rationale: that high-end LDCs are often far out of budget for independent artists with big ambitions and high creative standards. Having worked for decades with microphones from the big names in audio that come at 10 times the price of this mic, I have to say I am completly satisfied and impressed by this microphone. I got the bundle with shock-mount, pop filter, really nice security and protective hard-case, and paired it with an ART Tube MP, which gave it a bit of warm glow and gain.

I have since owning this been doing professional voice overs, music productions from my home where I would normally need to rent a studio with a U87, I can now produce high quality recordings and productions from home.

I've tried a lot of different mics on the market but keep returning to Rode gear because it is really consistent. This mic will soon be as ubiquitous as the SM57/58 in the kit of many musicians, producers, it is just hands down an all around great vocal and instrument mic.

Conclusion: Well built, well engineered excellent piece of gear, the lack of low cut or pad has never been a problem for this user as the mic has a dynamic range that can be attenuated on your pre-amp...
I've never had to mess around with EQ too much, it just sounds like, well my ear... !!? that's what a mic should sound like right ?
features
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

H
do not underestimate the power of Phantom power
Haik5 02.03.2022
Phantom power!!! don't forget! I'm so glad i didnt send this mic back , i got it yesterday and straight out of the box i plugged into my mixer and bummer it didnt work...i wanted to send it back...but luckily some folks on youtube made a comment that condenser mics need phantom power to work, i didnt even know i had it on my mixer but there it was a small button i pressed it and magic happened... this mic is truly great, i really love the sound of my voice coming through this mic its very clear and you can hear each whisper and breath in a nice way... i can only recommend it!! thank you Thomann!!
features
sound
quality
2
7
Report

Report

SS
Bang for your hard earned buck
Sonic Signature 23.06.2022
I believe this is as much as you can get (and expect) from a MIC in this price range. Even more - it it better than some of its competition with a higher price tag. Start here, earn some and go a class higher. But you will surely return to NT1-A later as well.
The only thing I regret with this MIC is that I spend money on other MICs before I bought this one.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
Excellent Studio mic for the price
AndyPlant 04.01.2022
I bought this mic for my home studio as the normal standard stage mic's (SM58) just wernt quite doing it for the vocals under studio conditions. once I recieved the Rode NT-1 and set it up I noticed the change in sensitivity and quality of the vocal sound straight away... Remember vocal isolation is essential for this mic, It really does pick everything up, My recorded home vocal sound, clarity and tone wise is much improved.. one could spend a lot more money on other condensor mics but for the money this mic really does the job nicely..I'd recommend it for any home recording setup
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

E
HARİKA
Ef?an 02.06.2022
Uzun zamandır almayı düşündüğüm bir mikrofondu. ALdığım için ve kullandığım için memnunum. Sadece mikrofonun üzerindeki boyalı alanlar soyulmaya başladı. Sehpa üzerinde hiç nem görmemesine rağmen beklemediğim bir durumdu. Kullanmaya devam ediyorum ve memnumun. Teşekkürler.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

K:
Probably the best you can get for the price :D
Keith :) 21.07.2022
I've been using these for years and always get compliments on any vocal recordings I've done at home. People are often surprised that it's just a trusty NT1-A.

Quality is great. Shock mount is little clunky with the fixed pop filter but I still appreciate the addition.

My one complaint is that the one XLR that I have that doesn't fit this mic is the one that came with it. I really don't know what the issue was. The mic works with other cables and the cable works with other mics but they do not like each other. Just could be annoying for someone starting off who wouldn't have spare cables handy.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

_
Perfect microphone for versatile use!
_CcosmosS_ 20.09.2022
From recording vocals, and guitars to sound effects, etc. this microphone covers it all. I am very happy with the accuracy and frequency response that it delivers. But the quality of the stand which is included isn't that good.
P.S. For working you will need 48 V phantom power.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

D
Fantastic vocals
Deepermind 03.02.2022
Researched for a good 2 months on which condenser microphone to purchase for my vocals and happy to say I made a great choice. I don't think it would be possible to get better results for this sort of budget.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording