Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

2381 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
191 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
100% value for money
SorenKrebs, 22.01.2020
I was looking for a good, and reasonable cheap, vocal studio microphone for my home studio and browsing Thomanns page I found the Rode NT1-A.
Jumping to YouTube for a second opinion and I found only good words about this mic, so I bought it and I have not been disappointed at all.
It is all what a studio mic should be, silent, sensitive, kindda a neutral in its sound, with a tendency to cut the midrange a bit but it’s acceptable.
I purchased the bundle kit with a mic stand, pop filter and the shock mount and I can’t put a finger on any of the items. It I should mention a detail, the mic with the mount is rather heavy, so heavy that the mic stand can hardly keep it in position if you lower the arm to 90º, a stronger stand must be recommended for this mic.
I can only recommend this mic – it’s awesome!!
Soren
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Ok for beginners but there are better options for less.
emememem, 02.01.2020
These are well advertised as "THE" home studio mic.
Firstly. I would instead recommend something like the Audio Technica AT2020, or the AKG c3000. Both very good mics for the money, and both feel much more robust than this thing.

Pros: fine for modern pop vocal sound, very pronounced high end.
Not awful as an overhead.
Visually, it looks pretty good.
sounds fine as an acoustic guitar mic.

Cons: Very harsh around 3k.
a strange problem that I had with this mic, more than any other condenser i've owned, is that it's extremely moisture and temperature sensitive, if it's anyways cold or damp, it just refuses to work.

The shockmount that comes with it is pretty brittle, the attached pop filter snapped off within about 3 months.

I say your money would be much better spend buying an At2020, a good universal shock mount and a pop filter.
Also, definitely bear in mind that a lot of the five star reviews here are from people who might never have owned a condenser before. Take it from someone who's no expert, but has tried every budget mic under the sun, your money is much better spent on something else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Nice Sound Quality
Calvin Cheung, 26.11.2019
I bought this mic for 2 weeks and I have been enjoying the sound quality of this microphone.
I use the mic for recording tutorial and teaching material.
Sometimes I also use it for doing song covers.

I find the clarity is perfect and I like the sensitivity of the mic.
Pros definitely are the mic is clear and sensitive and I will definitely recommend to other who want to use the mic for recording speech or doing narrative stuff. It's just sound perfect.
Cons are sometimes the high frequency is a bit too much especially when you are recording a female voice or you are pronouncing the "shh" "Pa" "Fa" consonant , can be a bit frustrating , however, I will use the EQ is cut the high frequency a bit and this problems goes away.

I will strongly recommend you to buy this mic with a really limited budget, FYI, I have one which has used for 10 years, I'm just buying this to my student which she also enjoys it very much!

Hope it helps !
send from HK!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Tespit, 15.08.2019
Rode NT1-A gets 5 out of 5 on build quality, it is sturdy and well-made. It is little heavy for cheap mic stands so make sure you have a good stable stand.. I honestly can't say for how many years it will stay this way but it seems it will probably resist the years of abuse... It picks up a lot of floor noises and wall reflections 'though, it demands proper sound proofing & acoustic treatment in where you record. Once you do that (which I did!) it is pretty noise-free and super clean. But if you don't have any precautions, you end up getting a lot of very ugly mud in the 200-400Hz range and that is something you cannot EQ easily.. Also the cable came with the mic is very good, it is very well balanced and noise-free. This is a very good mic to record vocals and especially acoustic guitars. If you don't have enough money in your bank, you can also try Tascam TM-80 which in many ways very similar to this Rode NT1-A and cheaper... and lighter... My overall for NT1-A: 8/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
Dan.C, 09.11.2019
Had this mic for over a year and so far, I am astounded on how this mic sounds considering its price point. Sure there are better microphones out there but the clarity of the recording is one-of-a-kind.

The only thing I noticed is after a while, you'll notice some parts where the paint bubbles and eventually, the coating chips. Take note that this does not affect the sound quality at all and is very minimal. All-in-all, I am thankful for choosing this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First Class Service
MattieK, 10.02.2019
My purchase of the Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording set was so easy. Personal attention from Thomann and speedy delivery to the Republic of Ireland - Brexit problem solved... thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does exactly what it says it will
05.02.2017
The Rode NT1-A is my first "decent" studio mic (swapped out my Superlux 205) so I might not have the experience to fully appreciate it. Nevertheless I can strongly reccommend it to anybody who is looking for a great mic at a budget friendly price.

It had no distortions, no noise, clear and crisp vocals (also tried it on a grand piano and the result was amazing; looking forward to trying it on an acoustic guitar), beautiful to look at and simply a wonderful piece of tech to have in a home studio.

One small thing about the Phantom Power for this microphone as well- it also worked with only 15V Phantom (and the recording sounded smooth as silk). Although as soon as I got the chance to use it with 48V, the results were ten times more amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Mic
Lightning Dragon Studios, 11.07.2017
Pros:
Really clear very low noise microphone,
great for capturing high detail recordings,
sounds great on singing vocals and acoustic guitar

Cons:
a bit basic in terms of features as it doesn't have a high pass filter or polar pattern switch,
I would have liked a mic case for it but considering you
get a cable and pop filter with it it's great value

Conclusion:
it's a basic mic but what it does it does exceptionally well it's honestly hard to find fault with it
it's outstanding level of detail and clarity are above anything at this price and rivals mic's several times the cost

i probably wouldn't recommend it for extreme metal or gritty voices as it's a bit too clean sounding but if you're looking to do voiceovers, podcasting or make music involving any kind of singing and want a great tone this might just be the mic you're after, it's clear and pleasing to listen to and has for lack of a better word an "expensive" quality to the sound that most mic's at this price lack, i have more expensive mics but for female singers this is the mic of choice more often than not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Am I the only one?
Lawrence B., 17.06.2016
I sold it. Yeah the biggest selling mic ever. I can see what they're getting at, I expected it to sit alongside a mix vocal-wise ad it did but I found the sound a bit 'soapy'. does that make sense?..and it's also disarmingly light..I would not choose this mic to defend myself with.
Having said all that the presentation and the solid pop filter/cradle etc are superb.
Truth be told I sold all my mid range 150 quiddish mics and got a Neumann TLM 103 and a very decent ribbon mic...and a few decent drum and guitar mics..I got fed up with 'average'..
So now it's 'Do it once, do it good'. Best decision I ever took..expensive..I now live in a cardboard box but I don't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good value for money
Stefriet, 03.04.2019
I got both the Rode NT1-A and the Shure SM57 LC because I was not sure what would be the best option. My goal is to record music at home. I play a variety of instruments, from deep drums to high tuned thumb pianos. The Rode NT1-A is a clear winner over the Shure SM57 in terms of sound quality. It has a crispness that couldn't be beat, especially on the high tone range instruments. On low range instruments it is a close call. So if you're like me, and not sure which one to get, I would definitely recommend this one.

The Millenium MS 2003, which comes in a bundle with this recording set, is not a good tripod for this microphone and I would recommend getting a slightly more expensive (more stable) one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Satisfied Musician
King Erual, 11.11.2019
This mic is one of my dream in gears. Very much happy for the performance, and output quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
veiga, 04.12.2017
This was my first studio microphone ever had. it's been 2 years since i got my first one, i've received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided to buy it , everything was so fast, i got it a week later or less, since then I've been using it in my home studio, to record different types of genres, and so far everything is good.

Pros:

- For the price you get not only a good mic, but thomann also it cames with a shockmount, a pop-filter which is very useful in recording, because os the p's and b's, And very long cable.

- the Sound quality of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles and white noise

Cons:

- this microphone is actually so perfect that is a little bit difficult for me to find something that i dont like about it, but if it's something that i dont like, is the fact that is hard to know where is the front or the back of it.


SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best bijet microphone
Artem Lee, 22.11.2019
Bought a microphone for a home Studio. The quality of the recording was pleasantly surprised. For their not a lot of money it is simply the best! Made reliably, as the microphone and its holder, all metal. Pop filter is double and telescopic. It can be placed at any angle and extended upwards. The microphone itself is very sensitive and catches all the noise, from the computer cooler to the steps of neighbors behind the wall. Therefore, it is necessary to equip the recording room well. The level of noise is minimal and it pleases, as less pass to clean the record. I recommend this microphone to those who want to make a high-quality record but does not have a large financial capacity. Cons have this microphone simply there is no.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High-quality sound with a modest price tag
Rad Rayupov, 26.08.2017
Everybody knows that it is hard to buy mics without any test, but this won't let you down!

This is a great microphone for everyone, who is looking for a high-quality results with a modest price tag. Great quality, very sturdy! Very versatile. It works great on vocals and wide variety of acoustic instruments like pianos, guitars and other strings. Won't give an unnatural color - really clean sounding with lots of detail!

I have had this mic for over a year now (I have two of them now) and I can say over and over: great affordable home studio microphone!
I use this microphone almost everyday (i use this on everything in the studio) and it suits my purposes very well. It sounds like what you put in front of it. It can handle loud sources as well.

It is just like a Premium sounding microphone, and it's like a tank! :) The pop filter, shock mount and and the most important xlr cable are are big bonus.

Have an idea of pros, now about cons. As you may guess, it has only one direction of picking sound (not multi pattern). And sometimes highs are bit harsh (but very rarely). for me that's all.

long story short: it does what it does well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No brainer..
David.R, 12.09.2019
Those looking for a no-frills, workhorse mic for use in the home studio can't go wrong. Would happily recommend to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A great start
29.10.2014
This kit is a perfect starting out kit for musicians and producers alike. For the price you'll not likely find much more out there of the quality aside from the SE X1 mic, but that doesn't really have the features this does.

The cradle and pop shield setup is so great, it's neat, tidy, and it gets you set up in one go without the need to go and buy more parts. It sets a level of recording professionalism that is crucial.

The mic itself has a character, not necessarily a great one, but again, for the money you'll not likely find much desirable character in other mics at the price point. It has a slightly clunky sound, not so much top end sheen, but that can be easily worked with.

Still, cracking deal, and gets decent resale once you decide to update
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super quiet and clean condenser
audiocan, 08.10.2018
Rode NT1-A speaks for itself; it's amazingly quiet good sounding large condenser mic. The price/quality ratio is amazing. It's great on vocals, but can be used for a wide variety of other purposes too (guitar, sound effects, etc.).
The pop filter is great no complaints there, but I find the shock mount way too heavy and bulky. Still, it functions without any issues. The microphone itself is quite heavy too, but it's meant for studio use anyway, so it's ok.
Get this without hesitation as go-to large-diaphragm condenser kit if sound quality and low self-noise is your priority.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Good
Ahmedctn, 12.09.2019
This is the best budged microphone you could ever get.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
RECOMMENDED x10000
Young-Bin, 19.02.2018
Probably THE best studio condenser mic you can get with less than 200 euros. Some claim it to be better than a lot of mics in the 600-800 euro area (and I dont think it's far-fetched). You get a very warm input which works very well for both male and female voices and for a range of styles. The Shock-mount and pop-filter is also of awesome quality! RODE Really knows what they are doing! Even some Professional studios use these mics for some applications. RECOMMENDED x10000
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value
Timinko, 07.11.2019
Used it for all sort of things, including vocals, acoustic guitar and podcasting. Sound wise it may not sit well with all types of voices but for 80% it works great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$147 €133.61
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RX1602 V2

Behringer RX1602 V2; 16-channel monitor line mixer; 16 balanced TRS connector inputs for stereo or mono use; great headroom; Monitor / FX transmitter controls per section with global master transmit control; Monitor / FX signal via headphone output; 2 x...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LAB Gruppen PDX3000

2-Channel amplifier with DSP function Power: 2x 1000W @ 2 Ohm, 2x 1500 W @ 4 Ohm, 2x 800 W @ 8 Ohm, 3000 W Peak, Class-D power amplifier, DSP configuration on front panel or via USB connection and...

Recently Viewed
the box MBA120W MKII

the box MBA120W MKII - 120W compact powered speaker with integrated MP3 and bluetooth player and UHF ( 863 - 865 MHz) wireless microphone system, 3x inputs for wired sources (microphones or instruments), line out (6,3mm Jack), integrated PSU and...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TUBE15 Celestion

Tube Combo for Electric Guitar 1 Channel, Power: 15 W/1 W, switchable, Preamp tubes: 3x ECC83 / 12AX7, Power tubes: 2x EL84, Equipped with: 12" Celestion Seventy speaker, Controls: Gain, Volume, Tone, Bass, Middle, Treble, Reverb, Switches: 15 W/1...

Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 250

Mooer GE 250 Amp modelling & Multi Effects, multi-effects pedal, 70 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series, 32 different default cabinet simulations (IRs), supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.) in 10 free user presets, 60 drum...

(4)
Recently Viewed
PRS SE Custom 24 BG 35th Anniv

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Mahogany, Top: Maple with flamed maple veneer, 3-Piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Rosewood (Dalbergia latifolia), Neck profile: Wide Thin, Old School Bird fretboard inlays, Scale: 635 mm, 24 Frets, Pickup: 2 PRS TCI "S" humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
the box pro DSX 112

Active Full-Range Speaker High-quality wooden cabinet, 2000 W Class D power amplifier, Contents: 12" woofer and 1" compression driver (1.35" VC), Built-in DSP with 4 presets, Low Cut, Maximum SPL (sound pressure level): 128 dB, Dispersion pattern: H 90°...

Recently Viewed
Numark DJ2Go 2 Touch

Portable 2-Channel DJ Controller Touch-sensitive jog wheels, 2 Pitch faders, Crossfader, Audio interface, 8 Multifunctional performance pads, Headphone output: 3.5 mm stereo jack, Main Output: 3.5 mm stereo, USB port, 5 V DC via USB, Dimensions: 86 x 314...

Recently Viewed
Drum N Base Vintage Drum Rug Red

Drum N Base Bass Vintage Drum Rug, Persian Style, Colour: red, Size: 1,85 x 1,60 m, 4 mm thick and strudy velours top surface, 2,5 mm thick, anti-slip bottom surface,

(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg Minilogue XD Pearl White

Hybrid Synthesizer Limited Edition features a white finish with solid oak back panel, 4-Voice polyphony, 37 Velocity-sensitive slim keys, 2 Analog VCOs and a digital multi-engine oscillator (noise, FM, user wavetables) per voice, 2-Pole filter with drive circuit, 1...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton StreetBox-60

Harley Benton StreetBox-60, compact portable battery powered amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for electric guitar, acoustic guitar, ukulele, vocals and music, 60 watt RMS, 2 x 5,5" full...

Recently Viewed
Thomann Cover Behringer B 1200D-Pro

Protective Cover Suitable for Behringer B1200D Pro, Water-resistant heavy-duty nylon, Manufactured in Germany, Colour: Black

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.