Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

2970 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Ok for beginners but there are better options for less.
emememem, 02.01.2020
These are well advertised as "THE" home studio mic.
Firstly. I would instead recommend something like the Audio Technica AT2020, or the AKG c3000. Both very good mics for the money, and both feel much more robust than this thing.

Pros: fine for modern pop vocal sound, very pronounced high end.
Not awful as an overhead.
Visually, it looks pretty good.
sounds fine as an acoustic guitar mic.

Cons: Very harsh around 3k.
a strange problem that I had with this mic, more than any other condenser i've owned, is that it's extremely moisture and temperature sensitive, if it's anyways cold or damp, it just refuses to work.

The shockmount that comes with it is pretty brittle, the attached pop filter snapped off within about 3 months.

I say your money would be much better spend buying an At2020, a good universal shock mount and a pop filter.
Also, definitely bear in mind that a lot of the five star reviews here are from people who might never have owned a condenser before. Take it from someone who's no expert, but has tried every budget mic under the sun, your money is much better spent on something else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Unmatched for price
James123456789, 30.07.2020
I have been using these ode mics for while now and i believe that for the price, they are completely unmatched.

Build quality is up there with mics hundreds of pounds more expensive and sound quality is the best you'll get at this price range hands down, and it definitely punches above the price range too.

I spend alot of time online reseaching gear before i buy and evey search or comparison i came across said this was the mic to go for for my budget and i was not dissapointed at all. The high response is crystal clear aswell as the lows, and the mids are rounded out nicely too - very low noise when recording and it can deliver on punchy vocals, soft vocals, drums and acoustic instruments as well as performing very well as a room mic.

I'd be hard pressed to buy a different mic at this price point and would go as far as to say it's one of the best up to double/triple it's price, of course i'd like to upgrade, but given the quality of the product and the value for money, it doesn't make sense to unless you can really increase the spend and the quality of microphone.

Overall incredible quality and value fo money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Studio-grade mic on a budget
SatoAV, 01.05.2020
Bought this microphone for my home studio, I mainly use it for recording vocals, which it does perfectly. It is also very good for recording acoustic guitar, and as drums overhead mic.

Although this is from a budget Rode lineup, the quality is outstanding, everything feels premium and durable. Sound quality is on par with much more expensive microphones, which makes this a great bargain for a home studio.

The only minor drawback for me is that the pop-filter on the spider-holder is not detachable, which makes a whole assembly a bit clumsy when you're not using it. Other than that, I'm 100% satisfied!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
xrysos , 01.12.2020
i use that mic for vocals in my budget home studio. the mic is perfect for the price .. the best pick for this use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The perfect microphone for the home studio and beyond
poxme1ie, 17.07.2020
I use this mic to record vocals and acoustic guitar in my home studio.

With a little manipulation of the room and blankets, it turned out to get a very low noise level on the recording (up to -60 dB), as stated.

There are also no pretensions to the build quality.

There were no problems with shocks and temperature differences, the microphone writes as well as possible (as far as possible) and always.

There was an experience of using microphones AT2020 and AKG P120 and in my opinion these microphones are inferior to NT1-A in detail, specifically in the 3k-5k hertz region.

The kit also included a "spider" holder, I don't know how it sounds correctly in English. The holder is made of good, sturdy metal and fully fulfills the tasks required of it. A pop filter is attached to the holder.

Based on my personal experience, I can say that this is an excellent microphone that is not inferior, and perhaps even surpasses its "fellow tribesmen" in this price category.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Must Have
Sarahosullivan, 11.11.2020
This was such a good investment. The quality of the microphone is brilliant. I find this product is great for recording on any daw. I like how easy and straightforward this product is to use. The shock mount was difficult initially to attach but is very sturdy and holds the microphone perfectly. I would highly reccommend this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harsh High End
Dinner, 22.02.2020
If, like me, you plan on recording airy falsetto vocals, I would avoid this mic at all costs. There is extremely fizzy, harsh frequency content around 3.5k, 4 to 5k and 7 to 8k. The amount of eq'ing required to tame these frequencies is excessive and very detrimental to the overall sound.
I can say when recording a different voice type the mic is totally adequate and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Très satisfait
Ceair, 02.10.2020
Très bon rapport qualité/prix, la fabrication est de qualité, tout autant pour le micro que le support et le filtre anti-pop inclus avec. Le son est très bon, mais le micro capte beaucoup de son, donc l'acoustique jouera un rôle important dans la qualité des enregistrements.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very happy with this purchase
igorewired, 04.02.2020
I use this one for vocal and instrument (classic guitar) recordings in my home studio.

I was amazed to be honest by the sound a cheap condenser microphone can produce, but to be honest that was my first cheap purchase from Rode as my band previously owned 2 Rode K2's.
The difference is huge. But I am not here to compare non-similar products.
I am just stating that this is a very high end to begin with condenser microphone. Especially for light studio work!
To make your recordings even better you can use the (the t.bone Micscreen XL) Thomann provides at a very reasonable price, especially if you have a not so isolated room and have various feedback (walls - glass etc.)

Pros:
+ build quality
+ Produces what it states

No Con at the moment.
(2 months light use)

With that all, you have a product you can use daily without being afraid to having it constantly connected on your Audio Interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Nice Sound Quality
Calvin Cheung, 26.11.2019
I bought this mic for 2 weeks and I have been enjoying the sound quality of this microphone.
I use the mic for recording tutorial and teaching material.
Sometimes I also use it for doing song covers.

I find the clarity is perfect and I like the sensitivity of the mic.
Pros definitely are the mic is clear and sensitive and I will definitely recommend to other who want to use the mic for recording speech or doing narrative stuff. It's just sound perfect.
Cons are sometimes the high frequency is a bit too much especially when you are recording a female voice or you are pronouncing the "shh" "Pa" "Fa" consonant , can be a bit frustrating , however, I will use the EQ is cut the high frequency a bit and this problems goes away.

I will strongly recommend you to buy this mic with a really limited budget, FYI, I have one which has used for 10 years, I'm just buying this to my student which she also enjoys it very much!

Hope it helps !
send from HK!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First Class Service
MattieK, 10.02.2019
My purchase of the Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording set was so easy. Personal attention from Thomann and speedy delivery to the Republic of Ireland - Brexit problem solved... thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Am I the only one?
Lawrence B., 17.06.2016
I sold it. Yeah the biggest selling mic ever. I can see what they're getting at, I expected it to sit alongside a mix vocal-wise ad it did but I found the sound a bit 'soapy'. does that make sense?..and it's also disarmingly light..I would not choose this mic to defend myself with.
Having said all that the presentation and the solid pop filter/cradle etc are superb.
Truth be told I sold all my mid range 150 quiddish mics and got a Neumann TLM 103 and a very decent ribbon mic...and a few decent drum and guitar mics..I got fed up with 'average'..
So now it's 'Do it once, do it good'. Best decision I ever took..expensive..I now live in a cardboard box but I don't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You pay for what you get
gogs, 27.01.2020
They tried to make it sound clear with higher frequencies, but it didn't work out well. I have a foggy microphone, which with a little eq sounds better. But for the price, this RODE sounds decent.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Tespit, 15.08.2019
Rode NT1-A gets 5 out of 5 on build quality, it is sturdy and well-made. It is little heavy for cheap mic stands so make sure you have a good stable stand.. I honestly can't say for how many years it will stay this way but it seems it will probably resist the years of abuse... It picks up a lot of floor noises and wall reflections 'though, it demands proper sound proofing & acoustic treatment in where you record. Once you do that (which I did!) it is pretty noise-free and super clean. But if you don't have any precautions, you end up getting a lot of very ugly mud in the 200-400Hz range and that is something you cannot EQ easily.. Also the cable came with the mic is very good, it is very well balanced and noise-free. This is a very good mic to record vocals and especially acoustic guitars. If you don't have enough money in your bank, you can also try Tascam TM-80 which in many ways very similar to this Rode NT1-A and cheaper... and lighter... My overall for NT1-A: 8/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Mic
Lightning Dragon Studios, 11.07.2017
Pros:
Really clear very low noise microphone,
great for capturing high detail recordings,
sounds great on singing vocals and acoustic guitar

Cons:
a bit basic in terms of features as it doesn't have a high pass filter or polar pattern switch,
I would have liked a mic case for it but considering you
get a cable and pop filter with it it's great value

Conclusion:
it's a basic mic but what it does it does exceptionally well it's honestly hard to find fault with it
it's outstanding level of detail and clarity are above anything at this price and rivals mic's several times the cost

i probably wouldn't recommend it for extreme metal or gritty voices as it's a bit too clean sounding but if you're looking to do voiceovers, podcasting or make music involving any kind of singing and want a great tone this might just be the mic you're after, it's clear and pleasing to listen to and has for lack of a better word an "expensive" quality to the sound that most mic's at this price lack, i have more expensive mics but for female singers this is the mic of choice more often than not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Condenser Mic
Guilherme Mello, 25.11.2020
You probably have heard that this mic is one of the best for its price range and that's a sweet true. Is not just that but is one of the most sold condenser mics out there. I love and use it on vocals and acoustic guitar, mainly! It has a flat response so it's perfect for recordings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good Starter Kit
Edo94, 27.11.2020
Bought this mic bundke kit as a gift for a friend of him and he absolutely loves it!

Great price! Great quality!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Met and exceeded expectations.
Rob5624, 03.06.2020
Used for home recording vocals. Would be equally at home in any serious project studio. As it says on the tin-extremely quiet. Great package all round. Mount is pro quality and dismantles and packs away easily. Mount is also adjustable. Pop shield works and is just the right size for compact spaces. All in all a hard to beat pro quality bundle. Oh and of course, a more than fair price. Excellent !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Responsive
Eamonndee, 18.11.2020
This is exactly how vocals are meant to sound at this level. I love this mic. It's offers no forgiveness and hides nothing. Clean, clear vocals ready for mixing. Excellent
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
Dan.C, 09.11.2019
Had this mic for over a year and so far, I am astounded on how this mic sounds considering its price point. Sure there are better microphones out there but the clarity of the recording is one-of-a-kind.

The only thing I noticed is after a while, you'll notice some parts where the paint bubbles and eventually, the coating chips. Take note that this does not affect the sound quality at all and is very minimal. All-in-all, I am thankful for choosing this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$175 €144.83
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(6)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

Recently Viewed
iZotope RX 8 Standard Crossgrade

iZotope RX 8 Standard Crossgrade (ESD); audio restoration software; crossgrades from from any paid iZotope / Exponential Audio product to RX 8 Standard; profound process control with extensive set of parameters and less artifacts; Guitar De-noise is a module dedicated...

Recently Viewed
Presonus Revelator

Presonus Revelator; USB-C microphone with effects; bus-powered USB-C compatible microphone for podcasts, streaming, home recording etc. ; polar pattern; cardioid, omnidirectional and figure-of-eight; 2x headphone output with volume control and zero latency monitoring; 96 kHz / 24-bit operation; 6-in/6-out audio...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m

Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m; Mobile chromakey background; Easy transport and safe storage thanks to the roll-up system in the sturdy aluminium case; Quick assembly and disassembly thanks to two hydraulic supports; Sturdy and durable scissor system; Two folding feet...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

Recently Viewed
Warwick Gnome

Bass Amp Head Compact and light, Transistor circuit, Class D power amplifier, Power: 200 W at 4 ohms / 130 W at 8 ohms, 3-Band EQ with +/- 15 dB cut / boost per band, 6.35 mm Headphone output...

Recently Viewed
Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp

Sadowsky Onboard Bass Preamp (4-Knob System), prewired onboard bass preamp for J-style basses with metal control plate, active preamp for passive pickups, 4-knob layout with controls for Master Volume / Balance / Vintage Tone Control (P/P) / Treble and Bass...

Recently Viewed
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Sarajewo

XAOC Devices Sarajewo; Eurorack module; Syncable Analog Delay Line; BBD (Bucked Brigade Device) delay with 3 delay taps; delay time: 20ms - 1.5s; separate outputs for 3 delay taps; audio input with level control knob; wet/dry control knob with CV...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.