Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

4667 Customer ratings

4.7 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

23 Reviews

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
$159
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
IM
Good microphone
Ivan Malco 09.05.2022
it´s a good microphone to start with i use it to record all of my songs in an untreated bedroom. find me on spotify under the name : Ivan Malco
there you can check the quality of the mic no bullshit review
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

g
You pay for what you get
gogs 27.01.2020
They tried to make it sound clear with higher frequencies, but it didn't work out well. I have a foggy microphone, which with a little eq sounds better. But for the price, this RODE sounds decent.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

D
Harsh High End
Dinner 22.02.2020
If, like me, you plan on recording airy falsetto vocals, I would avoid this mic at all costs. There is extremely fizzy, harsh frequency content around 3.5k, 4 to 5k and 7 to 8k. The amount of eq'ing required to tame these frequencies is excessive and very detrimental to the overall sound.
I can say when recording a different voice type the mic is totally adequate and good value for money.
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

LB
Am I the only one?
Lawrence B. 17.06.2016
I sold it. Yeah the biggest selling mic ever. I can see what they're getting at, I expected it to sit alongside a mix vocal-wise ad it did but I found the sound a bit 'soapy'. does that make sense?..and it's also disarmingly light..I would not choose this mic to defend myself with.
Having said all that the presentation and the solid pop filter/cradle etc are superb.
Truth be told I sold all my mid range 150 quiddish mics and got a Neumann TLM 103 and a very decent ribbon mic...and a few decent drum and guitar mics..I got fed up with 'average'..
So now it's 'Do it once, do it good'. Best decision I ever took..expensive..I now live in a cardboard box but I don't regret it.
features
sound
quality
6
4
Report

Report

d
Was great while it lasted
dossalab 07.01.2024
After 2 or so years just stopped working out of the blue. I used it specifically for home / studio use - so the microphone was never exposed to any sort of harsh conditions, never dropped or abused in any way. Quick Google search shows that I'm not alone and that is a recurring issue with this model. Hopefully the warranty will cover it but it's still a huge hassle.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

M
very quiet but with agressive highs
MandyK 21.02.2014
I have used the NT1-A since 2011 and i really liked it for 2 years.

Before i bought the nt1-a i recorded with a studio projects b1 and that was very noise, so i switched to the nt1a. It is really quiet, which is very great. Even very gentle sound sources stay more or less quiet and un-noisy. Great !

As i wrote in the title, after using it for two years, i found out, thaht the highs are very agressive or in other words - harsh - You really have no chances at all, to correct those frequencies with an equalizer or a compressor.

And thats very sad, because except the highs, i really like the rest of the microphone and the package.

You have everything to start from the scratch. Mic, Mic-Clamp with popscreen, mic-cable and a nice dvd with recording tipps.

I wouldn´t buy it again...would search for a more linear mic like the audio technica 2035 or similar.
features
sound
quality
3
1
Report

Report

A
A great start
Anonymous 29.10.2014
This kit is a perfect starting out kit for musicians and producers alike. For the price you'll not likely find much more out there of the quality aside from the SE X1 mic, but that doesn't really have the features this does.

The cradle and pop shield setup is so great, it's neat, tidy, and it gets you set up in one go without the need to go and buy more parts. It sets a level of recording professionalism that is crucial.

The mic itself has a character, not necessarily a great one, but again, for the money you'll not likely find much desirable character in other mics at the price point. It has a slightly clunky sound, not so much top end sheen, but that can be easily worked with.

Still, cracking deal, and gets decent resale once you decide to update
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

A
quite nice
Anonymous 11.11.2016
but I was disappointed about the thin sound
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

H
Hexter 27.08.2015
The most important thing first: the mic is GREAT. It is probably the best microphone you can get for that price. Some say it's a tad dark, but please, you could EQ that, but for my low voice it's just fine as-is. I haven't used it for anything else but vocals yet, but I've been told that it is quite versatile, and that I can believe. At least any singing style I've tried so far (and they are many) all has good.

As for the accesories: pop-filter is basic, and basic is good. But the stand is plain horrible. The mic ain't the most light one around, and the stand is having big trouble staying stable and not sliding downwards. It is probably the stand I've owned, but from a package deal like this I guess I should have known better. It's Millenium, and it's garbage. Keep that in mind and consider buying the article 235937 (same, but no stand) and another stand instead.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording