Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

3319 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic starter pack
janet77, 07.04.2021
Crisp clear sound - excellent quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Yes!
Tcele , 07.02.2021
A good mic at a good price with a pop an xlr and a base! For entry level its perfect!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perhaps too good!
helena_i.am, 11.12.2020
I bought this microphone to do some home covers, but I find myself a bit overwhelmed by it. It has been hard to keep it from peaking a lot when belting because it is so sensible.
For softer singing it works perfectly!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Jovib, 15.07.2020
ordered this bundle to help startup my home studio. glad to say Im not disappointed and pleased with the quality.

Pros:
-captures wide range of sound and lives up to being the quietest microphone
-mic comes with pop filter and shock mount so no need for extra purchases
-good value for money compared to other microphones out there

Cons:
-mic fitted with the shock mount can be quite heavy and put load on mic stand
-could capture more bass in vocals
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very happy with this purchase
igorewired, 04.02.2020
I use this one for vocal and instrument (classic guitar) recordings in my home studio.

I was amazed to be honest by the sound a cheap condenser microphone can produce, but to be honest that was my first cheap purchase from Rode as my band previously owned 2 Rode K2's.
The difference is huge. But I am not here to compare non-similar products.
I am just stating that this is a very high end to begin with condenser microphone. Especially for light studio work!
To make your recordings even better you can use the (the t.bone Micscreen XL) Thomann provides at a very reasonable price, especially if you have a not so isolated room and have various feedback (walls - glass etc.)

Pros:
+ build quality
+ Produces what it states

No Con at the moment.
(2 months light use)

With that all, you have a product you can use daily without being afraid to having it constantly connected on your Audio Interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Value for money
nicolas ks, 23.01.2021
I use this mic for recording vocals in my home studio. It is a very warm mic and i think you can have pro results. I have a focusrite 6i6 for my homestudio. Three months ago, i borrowed a high-end mic from a local studio nearby. I recorded the same vocals with both of them. I kept the vocals from NT1-A. The only con is that NT1A doesn't have switches on the mic for the db, but it's ok.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
overall good beginner microphone
Vocal Coach , 02.02.2021
I'm using this one to teach singers online. And for that it works absolutely perfectly!!!
The quality feels nice and strong. I would say this is a perfect beginners mic and it's a great microphone for the price! And a huge plus that it comes with everything you need to start using it. (except an interface ofc) I'm using this microphone together with the USB interface MOTU M2.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Extremely useful mic
AC 2bb, 01.12.2019
I use this to record vocal lines for music pre-production. It is very clear and present and I have had no issues with it. Great for the money. I didn't expect more features or better housing or anything for the money, so any negatives are really part of the package - this is a budget mic, and it's one of the best at that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
very good for the price
huge4 studios, 01.11.2019
does the job better than more expencive ones! maybe too bright
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Naski36, 22.02.2019
Best price compared to quality. If you dont have so much money or you want start your journey with vocal recording/practising then it is the best choice for you. Also if you are good engineer you can make magic with this microphone ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Low budget mic
TimHei, 14.02.2014
The Rode Nt1-A is a perfect microphone for recording beginner.
The recording bundle is good at it's price/value relation.
You get a microphone with all equipment you need to start recording.
Including a cable, shockmount and pop filter.
The Nt1-A has a brilliant tone resolution, especially high freqeuencies are emphasized.
I use this microphone in my home recording studio for vocals and guitar amp recordings.
I don't like the way the microphone sounds on male vocals, because of the emphasized frequencies. So I just use it for female vocals.
If one would compare this microphone to a Neumann or something else in this price range, he would determine that there is a big difference in sound.
But in the price range from 150-300€, personally the Rode Nt1-A is my favorite vocal studio mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
GOOD MIC, BRIGHT HF, good quality
Maj Kabobo, 25.03.2020
not much to say. does the job
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Budget Studio Microphone
BiRmOoN, 29.01.2021
I use it to record vocals, acoustic guitar, and to talk to people online. For the price It's great :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good for the home studio! Rode is a must.
thehomesleep, 14.04.2020
I own a SE condenser microphone for the studio and I just wanted to add a second one. The pack is complete with cables, shockmount and antipop filter. Very good for beginners but not only... we also registered guitar and voice on this album with the same kit: https://ampl.ink/dKN4E
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good price with very nice quality
Abd Amm, 23.03.2021
Good price with very nice quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
popular but not for everyone.
19.06.2014
Super low noise microphone. This is is very popular and is clearly great value for money but...

Personally I find this microphone to have too much top end - sound a bit too bright and brittle on vocals. This characteristic is considered to be "modern" sounding but personally i find if very unflattering. Can be good with acoustic guitar however when you was to capture the high end.

I have compared it with some lower priced similar mics from SE electronics etc and I prefer some of those. I also this Ribbon mics have a great deal to offer and there are now some great value budget ribbons available.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect
Romps d'Arabie, 02.01.2021
package perfect to a new studio. good quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good mic for the cost.
Suren, 20.09.2013
Although this model is the most inexpensive microphone in the line of studio Rode mics with a big capsules, it sounds very serious. May be it cannot great records super low end bass. Perhaps, Nt1A is not the best microphone for a very low male voices, but works very well with the average male voice. very high frequency sound stringed instruments like the charango, ukulele, etc..
In addition to a set of quality cable company (very comfortable) pop filter, and 10-year warranty. There is a label on the package that says - made in Australia.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good mic!
Fergal97, 06.06.2020
Its a good microphone, solid and well built

The output is quite hot so depending on what your recording and the preamp you might need a pad, for example a kick drum.

Cant complain! Its taken 5-6 years of abuse and the included shock mount is solid! It would be nice if the pop-shield holder was completely detachable from the mount but other than that, brilliant for the price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good for its price
Ohad, 19.05.2020
It's a great first or second condenser mic, and the bundle makes it very easy to get up and running, plus a 10 year warranty is quite stellar.
The quality is good, a bit too much on the top end if you'd ask me but that could be fixed in the mix.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good sounding budget mic
Theo M, 01.07.2014
I mainly use this mic as a demo mic for vocals and acoustic guitars, but I've also used it on a couple of "real" recordings. It's fairly bright sounding, compared to my others, such as the AKG C214. It might also sound a bit "tinny" bit this is not to bad and it's very easy to fix with EQing and the bright sound fits certain voices very well.

It can only record in a cardiod pattern and provides no switches for pading or such. However, it sounds great and I'm glad that Røde focused on the sound and build quality rather than compromising these and putting a bunch of features on it.

It comes with a very good shockmount with an attached pop filter. However, I've removed the pop filter and put on an external one, just because I like to have more control over the positioning than the shockmount provided. This shouldn't be an issue for most people though and the pop filter that comes with the unit works just fine.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
good for house recordings
06.03.2017
rode is really famous brand, and they make good stuff, but you need to pay a little more to get a real rode sound quality.
NT1-A is good mic for not so serious recordings. the sound is flat and poor compared to the akg in the same price range (p220).
i have both of them, and the akg is better in every way (sound, and switches for example)
pop filter is ok, but there is no bad pop filter i think, so there is not much to talk about.
it really is quality made mic and it will last for years, but for me, the sound is not very satisfying...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good for a start
Bohun, 27.11.2017
I've been using this mic for recording vocals and sound effects. Recorded signal has quite mediocre quality, presence band is quite filthy but, nevertheless, it's a good mic for its price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic
Derek6562, 21.06.2020
A really nice entry level mic perfect for home recording
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very pleased with the microphone
09.09.2014
I purchased this microphone in order to use for vocal, acoustic guitar and electric guitar amp recording, but found out that it also handles low level sound recording very nice, probably due to a low self-noise.
It is very convenient that it comes with a shock mount, an XLR cable and a pop filter, which can save you some money. Personally though I would swap the cable, which is very basic, for a hard case instead of a bag.
The quality of the recording is very good,and it is most probably limited not by the microphone, but by the interface and signal chain that I am using. Nevertheless I have managed to record song demos which included guitars, vocals, bass and drums with very good results. Still, a cut filter on the microphone would be a great addition.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$159
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.