Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

2764 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Unmatched for price
James123456789, 30.07.2020
I have been using these ode mics for while now and i believe that for the price, they are completely unmatched.

Build quality is up there with mics hundreds of pounds more expensive and sound quality is the best you'll get at this price range hands down, and it definitely punches above the price range too.

I spend alot of time online reseaching gear before i buy and evey search or comparison i came across said this was the mic to go for for my budget and i was not dissapointed at all. The high response is crystal clear aswell as the lows, and the mids are rounded out nicely too - very low noise when recording and it can deliver on punchy vocals, soft vocals, drums and acoustic instruments as well as performing very well as a room mic.

I'd be hard pressed to buy a different mic at this price point and would go as far as to say it's one of the best up to double/triple it's price, of course i'd like to upgrade, but given the quality of the product and the value for money, it doesn't make sense to unless you can really increase the spend and the quality of microphone.

Overall incredible quality and value fo money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Studio-grade mic on a budget
SatoAV, 01.05.2020
Bought this microphone for my home studio, I mainly use it for recording vocals, which it does perfectly. It is also very good for recording acoustic guitar, and as drums overhead mic.

Although this is from a budget Rode lineup, the quality is outstanding, everything feels premium and durable. Sound quality is on par with much more expensive microphones, which makes this a great bargain for a home studio.

The only minor drawback for me is that the pop-filter on the spider-holder is not detachable, which makes a whole assembly a bit clumsy when you're not using it. Other than that, I'm 100% satisfied!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The perfect microphone for the home studio and beyond
poxme1ie, 17.07.2020
I use this mic to record vocals and acoustic guitar in my home studio.

With a little manipulation of the room and blankets, it turned out to get a very low noise level on the recording (up to -60 dB), as stated.

There are also no pretensions to the build quality.

There were no problems with shocks and temperature differences, the microphone writes as well as possible (as far as possible) and always.

There was an experience of using microphones AT2020 and AKG P120 and in my opinion these microphones are inferior to NT1-A in detail, specifically in the 3k-5k hertz region.

The kit also included a "spider" holder, I don't know how it sounds correctly in English. The holder is made of good, sturdy metal and fully fulfills the tasks required of it. A pop filter is attached to the holder.

Based on my personal experience, I can say that this is an excellent microphone that is not inferior, and perhaps even surpasses its "fellow tribesmen" in this price category.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Nice Sound Quality
Calvin Cheung, 26.11.2019
I bought this mic for 2 weeks and I have been enjoying the sound quality of this microphone.
I use the mic for recording tutorial and teaching material.
Sometimes I also use it for doing song covers.

I find the clarity is perfect and I like the sensitivity of the mic.
Pros definitely are the mic is clear and sensitive and I will definitely recommend to other who want to use the mic for recording speech or doing narrative stuff. It's just sound perfect.
Cons are sometimes the high frequency is a bit too much especially when you are recording a female voice or you are pronouncing the "shh" "Pa" "Fa" consonant , can be a bit frustrating , however, I will use the EQ is cut the high frequency a bit and this problems goes away.

I will strongly recommend you to buy this mic with a really limited budget, FYI, I have one which has used for 10 years, I'm just buying this to my student which she also enjoys it very much!

Hope it helps !
send from HK!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First Class Service
MattieK, 10.02.2019
My purchase of the Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording set was so easy. Personal attention from Thomann and speedy delivery to the Republic of Ireland - Brexit problem solved... thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
Dan.C, 09.11.2019
Had this mic for over a year and so far, I am astounded on how this mic sounds considering its price point. Sure there are better microphones out there but the clarity of the recording is one-of-a-kind.

The only thing I noticed is after a while, you'll notice some parts where the paint bubbles and eventually, the coating chips. Take note that this does not affect the sound quality at all and is very minimal. All-in-all, I am thankful for choosing this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Mic
Lightning Dragon Studios, 11.07.2017
Pros:
Really clear very low noise microphone,
great for capturing high detail recordings,
sounds great on singing vocals and acoustic guitar

Cons:
a bit basic in terms of features as it doesn't have a high pass filter or polar pattern switch,
I would have liked a mic case for it but considering you
get a cable and pop filter with it it's great value

Conclusion:
it's a basic mic but what it does it does exceptionally well it's honestly hard to find fault with it
it's outstanding level of detail and clarity are above anything at this price and rivals mic's several times the cost

i probably wouldn't recommend it for extreme metal or gritty voices as it's a bit too clean sounding but if you're looking to do voiceovers, podcasting or make music involving any kind of singing and want a great tone this might just be the mic you're after, it's clear and pleasing to listen to and has for lack of a better word an "expensive" quality to the sound that most mic's at this price lack, i have more expensive mics but for female singers this is the mic of choice more often than not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does exactly what it says it will
05.02.2017
The Rode NT1-A is my first "decent" studio mic (swapped out my Superlux 205) so I might not have the experience to fully appreciate it. Nevertheless I can strongly reccommend it to anybody who is looking for a great mic at a budget friendly price.

It had no distortions, no noise, clear and crisp vocals (also tried it on a grand piano and the result was amazing; looking forward to trying it on an acoustic guitar), beautiful to look at and simply a wonderful piece of tech to have in a home studio.

One small thing about the Phantom Power for this microphone as well- it also worked with only 15V Phantom (and the recording sounded smooth as silk). Although as soon as I got the chance to use it with 48V, the results were ten times more amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Unbelievable
Ettiene, 09.06.2020
This mic is just unbelievable. I is soo sensitive, and there is literally no noise... well apart from my own noise :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
100% value for money
SorenKrebs, 22.01.2020
I was looking for a good, and reasonable cheap, vocal studio microphone for my home studio and browsing Thomanns page I found the Rode NT1-A.
Jumping to YouTube for a second opinion and I found only good words about this mic, so I bought it and I have not been disappointed at all.
It is all what a studio mic should be, silent, sensitive, kindda a neutral in its sound, with a tendency to cut the midrange a bit but it’s acceptable.
I purchased the bundle kit with a mic stand, pop filter and the shock mount and I can’t put a finger on any of the items. It I should mention a detail, the mic with the mount is rather heavy, so heavy that the mic stand can hardly keep it in position if you lower the arm to 90º, a stronger stand must be recommended for this mic.
I can only recommend this mic – it’s awesome!!
Soren
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Really amazing product
ATAXBB, 28.06.2020
It is one of the best mic that I've tried
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High-quality sound with a modest price tag
Rad Rayupov, 26.08.2017
Everybody knows that it is hard to buy mics without any test, but this won't let you down!

This is a great microphone for everyone, who is looking for a high-quality results with a modest price tag. Great quality, very sturdy! Very versatile. It works great on vocals and wide variety of acoustic instruments like pianos, guitars and other strings. Won't give an unnatural color - really clean sounding with lots of detail!

I have had this mic for over a year now (I have two of them now) and I can say over and over: great affordable home studio microphone!
I use this microphone almost everyday (i use this on everything in the studio) and it suits my purposes very well. It sounds like what you put in front of it. It can handle loud sources as well.

It is just like a Premium sounding microphone, and it's like a tank! :) The pop filter, shock mount and and the most important xlr cable are are big bonus.

Have an idea of pros, now about cons. As you may guess, it has only one direction of picking sound (not multi pattern). And sometimes highs are bit harsh (but very rarely). for me that's all.

long story short: it does what it does well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Met and exceeded expectations.
Rob5624, 03.06.2020
Used for home recording vocals. Would be equally at home in any serious project studio. As it says on the tin-extremely quiet. Great package all round. Mount is pro quality and dismantles and packs away easily. Mount is also adjustable. Pop shield works and is just the right size for compact spaces. All in all a hard to beat pro quality bundle. Oh and of course, a more than fair price. Excellent !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
Marco sem, 27.08.2019
Excellent value for money, clean sound and complete equipment for semi-professional use. A microphone that can't miss in the home of a lover of music and singing. Good frequency response
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bang for the Buck!
Zeadwing, 10.03.2020
Great mic for the price. Ideal for home recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sound for this budget, also great quality.
Tebi, 31.07.2020
Construction is perfect. It really deserves everything people say about it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Only mic I've used in 7 years
sabiansoldier, 05.02.2020
It's so versatile it sounds great on anything. Bought in 2013: Very happy with it and will be using it for many years to come.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great for vocals and guitars.
tiagosc, 20.04.2020
I am sure that higher priced models will give you better sounds, but this Rode is at an industry entry-level. I definitely recommend it.
Pros:
- Great set to start recording right away
- Great for vocals and guitars
Cons:
- No cons for the price tag
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
As excellent as everybody says it is
Hafa El, 01.02.2020
Very good sound. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super quiet and clean condenser
audiocan, 08.10.2018
Rode NT1-A speaks for itself; it's amazingly quiet good sounding large condenser mic. The price/quality ratio is amazing. It's great on vocals, but can be used for a wide variety of other purposes too (guitar, sound effects, etc.).
The pop filter is great no complaints there, but I find the shock mount way too heavy and bulky. Still, it functions without any issues. The microphone itself is quite heavy too, but it's meant for studio use anyway, so it's ok.
Get this without hesitation as go-to large-diaphragm condenser kit if sound quality and low self-noise is your priority.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$177 €150.86
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 49 MK3

USB MIDI kKeyboard 49 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controls, Keys for...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Presonus Studio One 5 Pro UG 1-4 Pro

Presonus Studio One 5 Professional Upgrade 1-4 Professional / Producer (ESD); Audio MIDI Sequencer (DAW); upgrades Studio One 1-4 Professional / Producer to Studio One 5 Professional; straightforward single window operation; straight drag and drop functionality; project page allows for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Aston Microphones Spirit Black Bundle

Aston Microphones Spirit Black Bundle - Limited Edition; contains Aston Spirit Black and Swift Shield; Aston Spirit: Large Diaphragm Studio Microphone, Polar Pattern: Omni/Cardioid/Figure-of-Eight, Frequency Response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz (+/- 3dB), Equivalent Input Noise 14dB A-Weighted, max. SPL:...

Recently Viewed
Midas Compressor Limiter 522 V2

Midas Compressor Limiter 522; 500 Series Modular Compressor/Limiter; rotary knobs for Treshold, Ratio, Attack, Release, Gain and Dynamic Presence; HP Sidechain Filter (200 Hz); LED Meter for Gain Reduction and Output Level; Designed and engineered in the U.K.

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 112 Dual VCO

Behringer 112 Dual VCO; Eurorack module; two identical analog VCOs in one module; selectable waveforms: triangle, sawtooth and squarewave/pulse; adjustable pulsewidth and PWM CV input with attenuator; octave-switch and fine-tune control knob; hard and soft sync; 3 pitch CV inputs...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 37 MK3

USB MIDI Keyboard 37 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controllers, Keys for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Recently Viewed
Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headph. Amp

Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headphone Amp; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; practical practice tool; intuitive operation using three fully-tactile slider potentiometers with positioning LED's; 5 cabinet simulations; Aux In & Bluetooth to listen to back in tracks while playing, rehearsing,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.