Customer center login

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

3552 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Sehr gutes Mikrofon for das Geld!
FrankWilleke, 30.03.2021
Ich habe mich einfach aufgrund der Bewertungen und des Preises für das NT1-A entschieden, und bin wirklich sehr angetan.

Der Klang ist wirklich detailreich, Sprach- und Gesangsaufnahmen kommen sehr fein aufgelöst und natürlich daher. Der Atem und feine Sprachnuancen gewinnen stark an Gewicht, was mir sehr gefällt. Auch akustische Gitarren lassen sich sehr fein damit abnehmen. Ich persönliche empfinde den Klang trotz des abfallenden Charakters im hohen Frequenzbereich immer noch als sehr hell und kristallin, weshalb ich gerne im EQ die Höhen noch etwas weiter senke, oder auch mal einen De-Esser einsetze. Ein bisschen wärmer dürfte es noch sein, aber das ist eine Geschmacksfrage, und kann nicht dem NT1-A vorgeworfen werden. Die Wärme mach ich mir einfach mit einem Röhrenpreamp dahinter.

Die Qualität des Mikros beurteile ich als sehr gut, aber einen Stern Abzug gibt’s für die Spinne. Da ist vorne ein Teil des Mikrofonrings so nah an der äußeren Aufhängung, dass es schon bei leichtem Antippen dagegen stößt, was natürlich lautes Rumpeln in der Aufnahme verursacht. Wäre noch ein Millimeter mehr Abstand wär’s einfach sicherer bei stärkeren Erschütterungen.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Unmatched for price
James123456789, 30.07.2020
I have been using these ode mics for while now and i believe that for the price, they are completely unmatched.

Build quality is up there with mics hundreds of pounds more expensive and sound quality is the best you'll get at this price range hands down, and it definitely punches above the price range too.

I spend alot of time online reseaching gear before i buy and evey search or comparison i came across said this was the mic to go for for my budget and i was not dissapointed at all. The high response is crystal clear aswell as the lows, and the mids are rounded out nicely too - very low noise when recording and it can deliver on punchy vocals, soft vocals, drums and acoustic instruments as well as performing very well as a room mic.

I'd be hard pressed to buy a different mic at this price point and would go as far as to say it's one of the best up to double/triple it's price, of course i'd like to upgrade, but given the quality of the product and the value for money, it doesn't make sense to unless you can really increase the spend and the quality of microphone.

Overall incredible quality and value fo money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Studio-grade mic on a budget
SatoAV, 01.05.2020
Bought this microphone for my home studio, I mainly use it for recording vocals, which it does perfectly. It is also very good for recording acoustic guitar, and as drums overhead mic.

Although this is from a budget Rode lineup, the quality is outstanding, everything feels premium and durable. Sound quality is on par with much more expensive microphones, which makes this a great bargain for a home studio.

The only minor drawback for me is that the pop-filter on the spider-holder is not detachable, which makes a whole assembly a bit clumsy when you're not using it. Other than that, I'm 100% satisfied!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good
Wabe , 13.09.2021
dude i was torn between this and a different model. but I bought it with a friend's recommendation, good thing I bought it, thanks thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
AN AMAZING VOCAL CONDENSIR MIC
Kalsi, 26.06.2021
I recorded vocals guitars and some percussions and the mic handeld all of them so good.

the sound is amazing
The build quality is just the best at this price point.

one thing is the pop filter included, It got smelly after a lot of uses.

for conclution, an amazing mic at amazing price with realy nice gear.

TOTALY WORTH IT
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Nice Sound Quality
Calvin Cheung, 26.11.2019
I bought this mic for 2 weeks and I have been enjoying the sound quality of this microphone.
I use the mic for recording tutorial and teaching material.
Sometimes I also use it for doing song covers.

I find the clarity is perfect and I like the sensitivity of the mic.
Pros definitely are the mic is clear and sensitive and I will definitely recommend to other who want to use the mic for recording speech or doing narrative stuff. It's just sound perfect.
Cons are sometimes the high frequency is a bit too much especially when you are recording a female voice or you are pronouncing the "shh" "Pa" "Fa" consonant , can be a bit frustrating , however, I will use the EQ is cut the high frequency a bit and this problems goes away.

I will strongly recommend you to buy this mic with a really limited budget, FYI, I have one which has used for 10 years, I'm just buying this to my student which she also enjoys it very much!

Hope it helps !
send from HK!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best in class for Home and Professional Studios
Gustavo Loebel, 18.08.2021
I increased a lot the quality of my recordings in my studio, lovely and not expensive mic, one of the most used in voice recordings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing for the price
Quan, 24.09.2021
The best cardioid microphone within this prince range! I noticed that my voice is a lot more crisp and clear, and the mic has a really good range. Rode is known for their quality and this is certainly one of them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does exactly what it says it will
05.02.2017
The Rode NT1-A is my first "decent" studio mic (swapped out my Superlux 205) so I might not have the experience to fully appreciate it. Nevertheless I can strongly reccommend it to anybody who is looking for a great mic at a budget friendly price.

It had no distortions, no noise, clear and crisp vocals (also tried it on a grand piano and the result was amazing; looking forward to trying it on an acoustic guitar), beautiful to look at and simply a wonderful piece of tech to have in a home studio.

One small thing about the Phantom Power for this microphone as well- it also worked with only 15V Phantom (and the recording sounded smooth as silk). Although as soon as I got the chance to use it with 48V, the results were ten times more amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent mic!!!
Dyl , 12.05.2021
Perfect piece of gear that works for beginner/professionals. This mic produces excellent sound and gives a lot of scope for sampling.

I love the phantom power!!

I particularly like the design. very neat setup and easy to mange. The design of the nobs are cool and are easily worked.

would highly recommend!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sky jenius , 30.06.2021
Really enjoying my product down here in Ghana west Africa... Great mic with amazing performance. Vocal clarity on point... Thanks thomann for a Quality product. 🥰
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A quality mic for recording
David M, 06.09.2021
I bought this microphone as part of a basic home studio setup. For the price, it has been incredibly good. I have been using this microphone for some vocal recordings both for music and also for some videos I have been producing.

It has been really easy to work with it and get the sounds that I desired from it. Working well with vocals, acoustic guitar, and as an overhead for drums. Providing a clear and crisp sound in whatever situation I have used it in so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect!
Dianasty98, 30.07.2021
Thanks. The sound of this microphone is so fire!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The perfect microphone for the home studio and beyond
poxme1ie, 17.07.2020
I use this mic to record vocals and acoustic guitar in my home studio.

With a little manipulation of the room and blankets, it turned out to get a very low noise level on the recording (up to -60 dB), as stated.

There are also no pretensions to the build quality.

There were no problems with shocks and temperature differences, the microphone writes as well as possible (as far as possible) and always.

There was an experience of using microphones AT2020 and AKG P120 and in my opinion these microphones are inferior to NT1-A in detail, specifically in the 3k-5k hertz region.

The kit also included a "spider" holder, I don't know how it sounds correctly in English. The holder is made of good, sturdy metal and fully fulfills the tasks required of it. A pop filter is attached to the holder.

Based on my personal experience, I can say that this is an excellent microphone that is not inferior, and perhaps even surpasses its "fellow tribesmen" in this price category.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow!
Dan.C, 09.11.2019
Had this mic for over a year and so far, I am astounded on how this mic sounds considering its price point. Sure there are better microphones out there but the clarity of the recording is one-of-a-kind.

The only thing I noticed is after a while, you'll notice some parts where the paint bubbles and eventually, the coating chips. Take note that this does not affect the sound quality at all and is very minimal. All-in-all, I am thankful for choosing this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Rode NT-1A
Therlanda, 08.04.2021
Very good mic for a very affordable price I highly recommend it!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value for a beginners kit.
stanik123, 14.10.2020
Definitely does the job! Impressed how in this price range one can find a very decent sounding microphone. Paired it with a hand made acoustic shield (as Aston Halo is a bit on a pricey side in my situation) and the results were amazing.

+ quality of the build
+ used it as an emergency microphone in a small recording studio and did the job!

- a little bit on a bright side in terms of treating the highs

One of the best bang for buck recording solutions out there!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sound for vocals + speech
Joel_UK, 24.05.2021
Totally overkill for my Zoom calls but enjoy having a proper mic for working at home and does sound great with a bit of EQ. Great proximity effect for speech. For actual music production, the NT1-A has a marked difference vs SM58 for vocals - clarity, presence, expression - though obviously with a more sensitive pickup pattern, despite also being directional.
Very good build quality including the shock mount and pop filter. I got the RØDE WS2 foam pop filter separately, as the included pop filter is a bit intrusive for speech, though great for dynamic vocals.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Must Have
Sarahosullivan, 11.11.2020
This was such a good investment. The quality of the microphone is brilliant. I find this product is great for recording on any daw. I like how easy and straightforward this product is to use. The shock mount was difficult initially to attach but is very sturdy and holds the microphone perfectly. I would highly reccommend this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
güzel
alibeber, 29.03.2021
teşekkür ederim çok kaliteli.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$159
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results: