Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

2181 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
154 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Sensitive and considerate
Emile Michel Hobo, 27.08.2019
The further away you are from the microphone, the more the surroundings come into the mix.

I most definitely do recommend you get a reflection filter also when you sing in the higher registers, but when you stay in the lower registers, like with some Hip-Hop, just getting close-up to the mic will eliminate most problems with room acoustics.

The mic does everything you expect it to do. Study what the effects are of positioning it, straight up, sideways, diagonally; and look into room acoustics. That will help you get the most out of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphone for this price range
07.04.2016
This was my first studio microphone ever bought. I received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided for it, and I'm very happy for this decision. I use it in home recording of demos for different bands, so far I used it on vocals, guitars, accordion, clarinet, trumpet and it worked really well.

Pros:

- For 200¤ you get not only a good mic, but also shockmount which can be put on different sizes of threads on mic stands, pop-filter which is very useful in recording, cable, cover so you can cover it when not using it and CD in which different mic techniques are shown on practical example.

- Sound of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles.

- Trying different mic techniques can give you different interesting sounds and colours of it.

Cons:

- Recording vocals too close to mic can give too sibilant sound, but you can avoid this with recording a bit further from mic, or by recording little off-axis of it. Deesser also helps in mixing.

- Sometimes I find difficult to connect a cable with connector on the microphone (clip of the cable doesn't clip well with the connector).

SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best option to start recording
Ozhn, 18.10.2018
If you are in the early periods of recording (i.e. vocals or instruments), this set is the best option to begin with. I have used it on vocals and instrument recordings at home and it works well. It does not capture unwanted sounds coming from outside such as cars, neighbors etc. It will give you what you want.

Included shock mount and pop filter are quality products which is nice to have with the microphone. You should be aware that the whole set is a bit heavy so you better pick a solid microphone stand to carry the set.

You should also be aware of the frequency response of the microphone. There are various amounts of boosts above 1k which increases presence and clarity overall. If you want more flat sound, you can check NT1 as an alternative.

Rode NT1-A is a nice bright microphone which will cover your needs in general. If you want to achieve studio quality sound, you can later upgrade your microphone to more expensive alternatives but you will need to have a nice audio interface/preamp and good room accoustics as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A Big Step Up!
Seanachie, 23.06.2019
Microphones of this kind can be very expensive, but I find this RODE recording set perfect for what I need. Alot of Youtuber use it just as a speaking mic, but it is also really good for singing. Don't let the price make you think it isn't worth it because it made a whole lot difference for me. Before this I was recording with my stage mic, but this is much better, it captures the sound really well.

If I stand far away it captures the guitar and the vocal and if I want more details for the vocals I move closer and record guitar on a second line. So its very versatile this way.

This is a very good recording mic. If you're buying your first one I would recommend this one without a doubt. I do recommend a good quality stand with it, its a bit heavier than a stage mic so you will want to fix it a bit better than a stage mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First Class Service
MattieK, 10.02.2019
My purchase of the Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording set was so easy. Personal attention from Thomann and speedy delivery to the Republic of Ireland - Brexit problem solved... thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High-quality sound with a modest price tag
Rad Rayupov, 26.08.2017
Everybody knows that it is hard to buy mics without any test, but this won't let you down!

This is a great microphone for everyone, who is looking for a high-quality results with a modest price tag. Great quality, very sturdy! Very versatile. It works great on vocals and wide variety of acoustic instruments like pianos, guitars and other strings. Won't give an unnatural color - really clean sounding with lots of detail!

I have had this mic for over a year now (I have two of them now) and I can say over and over: great affordable home studio microphone!
I use this microphone almost everyday (i use this on everything in the studio) and it suits my purposes very well. It sounds like what you put in front of it. It can handle loud sources as well.

It is just like a Premium sounding microphone, and it's like a tank! :) The pop filter, shock mount and and the most important xlr cable are are big bonus.

Have an idea of pros, now about cons. As you may guess, it has only one direction of picking sound (not multi pattern). And sometimes highs are bit harsh (but very rarely). for me that's all.

long story short: it does what it does well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No brainer..
David.R, 12.09.2019
Those looking for a no-frills, workhorse mic for use in the home studio can't go wrong. Would happily recommend to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good value for money
Stefriet, 03.04.2019
I got both the Rode NT1-A and the Shure SM57 LC because I was not sure what would be the best option. My goal is to record music at home. I play a variety of instruments, from deep drums to high tuned thumb pianos. The Rode NT1-A is a clear winner over the Shure SM57 in terms of sound quality. It has a crispness that couldn't be beat, especially on the high tone range instruments. On low range instruments it is a close call. So if you're like me, and not sure which one to get, I would definitely recommend this one.

The Millenium MS 2003, which comes in a bundle with this recording set, is not a good tripod for this microphone and I would recommend getting a slightly more expensive (more stable) one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Mic
Lightning Dragon Studios, 11.07.2017
Pros:
Really clear very low noise microphone,
great for capturing high detail recordings,
sounds great on singing vocals and acoustic guitar

Cons:
a bit basic in terms of features as it doesn't have a high pass filter or polar pattern switch,
I would have liked a mic case for it but considering you
get a cable and pop filter with it it's great value

Conclusion:
it's a basic mic but what it does it does exceptionally well it's honestly hard to find fault with it
it's outstanding level of detail and clarity are above anything at this price and rivals mic's several times the cost

i probably wouldn't recommend it for extreme metal or gritty voices as it's a bit too clean sounding but if you're looking to do voiceovers, podcasting or make music involving any kind of singing and want a great tone this might just be the mic you're after, it's clear and pleasing to listen to and has for lack of a better word an "expensive" quality to the sound that most mic's at this price lack, i have more expensive mics but for female singers this is the mic of choice more often than not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Good
Ahmedctn, 12.09.2019
This is the best budged microphone you could ever get.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does exactly what it says it will
05.02.2017
The Rode NT1-A is my first "decent" studio mic (swapped out my Superlux 205) so I might not have the experience to fully appreciate it. Nevertheless I can strongly reccommend it to anybody who is looking for a great mic at a budget friendly price.

It had no distortions, no noise, clear and crisp vocals (also tried it on a grand piano and the result was amazing; looking forward to trying it on an acoustic guitar), beautiful to look at and simply a wonderful piece of tech to have in a home studio.

One small thing about the Phantom Power for this microphone as well- it also worked with only 15V Phantom (and the recording sounded smooth as silk). Although as soon as I got the chance to use it with 48V, the results were ten times more amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Crisply captures an authentic sound.
David7982, 15.09.2015
This is my first condenser microphone. I use it for voice recordings, not for music.

The reviews that I had read suggest that this is a good microphone for the price - having a flat frequency-response curve, and a realistic sound. I agree with this. The sound that this microphone captures is detailed. It has been written that this microphone can capture too much of the crispy high-end sound, I cannot say for sure if this is true, but I am happy with it, but it must be said that the characteristics of your voice can be changed by good microphone technique (changing distance and relative position). Ensure that you have the correct side of the microphone facing the sound source. This side is marked with a gold dot.

The build quality is good, with a solid and satisfying feel. It is manufactured in Australia in some very high-tech facilities. Rode is very proud of its manufacturing process and there are videos available online for those interested. The integrated shock mount and pop screen are also robust. I have the feeling that this piece of equipment is going to serve me well for a long time.

Other accessories include a 6-metre XLR cable and a black bag with gold drawstrings, emblazoned with the Rode logo and a gold dot. I always keep this microphone on a stand, with this bag over it to keep out the dust. The stand that I use is the K&M 21070. It looks great on the stand - ready for good use!

-- happy customer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great bundle.
MarkZhero, 01.09.2019
Everything you need for a quality voice and acoustic instrument recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wonderful Microphone
Matt36, 12.02.2019
I'm recording my voice for voiceovers, singing etc. And When I'm searching a low-noise level, condenser microphone, I saw the NT1-A. It has very very low, 5db self-noise level, thus I'm not using noise removal plugins. The sound what I'm recording, sounds like TV-quality sound.

Pros:
-5 db self noise-level
-Comes with pop filter & shockmount
-Very suitable for voice overs

Cons:
nothing

If you're looking a microphone for voice overs, (in these budget) you can choose it clearly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry Standard for a Reason!
bsahin, 31.12.2018
This microphone sounds good on my vocals and acoustic guitars, everything I've wanted in one package! Glad that I did buy it!

I've been hearing the name NT1-A so much I had to give it a try and how it is my main vocal microphone. Such a great build quality combined with a great sound...

The single problem I got with the microphone was with the XLR connector, I had such a hard time plugging the cable in, I don't know maybe it could be due to it being plugged for the first time? It resisted so hard that made me worry that I might damage the connector. It worked out just fine, it works perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
veiga, 04.12.2017
This was my first studio microphone ever had. it's been 2 years since i got my first one, i've received many recommendations on this microphone, so I decided to buy it , everything was so fast, i got it a week later or less, since then I've been using it in my home studio, to record different types of genres, and so far everything is good.

Pros:

- For the price you get not only a good mic, but thomann also it cames with a shockmount, a pop-filter which is very useful in recording, because os the p's and b's, And very long cable.

- the Sound quality of this mic is really clear, present, with no annoying middles and white noise

Cons:

- this microphone is actually so perfect that is a little bit difficult for me to find something that i dont like about it, but if it's something that i dont like, is the fact that is hard to know where is the front or the back of it.


SUMMARY: I would definitely recommend buying this microphone in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome One Stop Shop
losforword, 28.01.2019
Use
In my Home Studio

Clarity
It is really awesome mic. Sounds good in Vocal as well as for Acoustic Guitar.

Pros: Super Silent in terms of Noise Level
Cons: Sensitive to room noise. Acoustic treatment in the room might be necessary.

Comprehensibility
Super Solid built quality

Totally Satisfied and worthy purchase
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
Marco sem, 27.08.2019
Excellent value for money, clean sound and complete equipment for semi-professional use. A microphone that can't miss in the home of a lover of music and singing. Good frequency response
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best package for the money on the market.
Joe911, 16.05.2013
This is a turnkey system, one which I'm not sure how I managed without.

Frequency response is fabulous, the whole kit is compatible with itself.

One evening when I was setting up recording levels, I wondered what the conversation in the background was, it was some people at a takeaway around a corner from where the recording equipment was installed... that was 40 metres away, through locked doors and windows ! ! !

(I just turned the gain down on the input channels in Cubase to fix it, but what a pleasant surprise).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super quiet and clean condenser
audiocan, 08.10.2018
Rode NT1-A speaks for itself; it's amazingly quiet good sounding large condenser mic. The price/quality ratio is amazing. It's great on vocals, but can be used for a wide variety of other purposes too (guitar, sound effects, etc.).
The pop filter is great no complaints there, but I find the shock mount way too heavy and bulky. Still, it functions without any issues. The microphone itself is quite heavy too, but it's meant for studio use anyway, so it's ok.
Get this without hesitation as go-to large-diaphragm condenser kit if sound quality and low self-noise is your priority.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
RECOMMENDED x10000
Young-Bin, 19.02.2018
Probably THE best studio condenser mic you can get with less than 200 euros. Some claim it to be better than a lot of mics in the 600-800 euro area (and I dont think it's far-fetched). You get a very warm input which works very well for both male and female voices and for a range of styles. The Shock-mount and pop-filter is also of awesome quality! RODE Really knows what they are doing! Even some Professional studios use these mics for some applications. RECOMMENDED x10000
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
For this price? Wow!
JGGR , 29.08.2019
NT1-A is a solid Microphone, excellent for voice recording.
Well built, noise-free and clear sounding. There's nothing to complain about it, specially in this price range. Most people might use it for many many years before actually needing to spend more money on more expensive mics.
I recommend .t whieheartedlyol
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing Budget Microphone
Renewy, 07.05.2017
Hey guys, finally got this sensational large-diaphragm mic, so I'm here to share my experience.

For a long time I was using cheap dynamic microphones to record my home demos, so this is my first condenser mic. What can I say? Me and my musical friends were amazed by the quality Rode NT1-A provides to us.
Clean, quiet, yet very sensitive sound. We noticed how
good it captures the natural reverb of my bedroom, but not in the bad way, it is so smooth and warm. Rode NT1-A raised my music one or even two steps higher.

I plug my Rode into M-Audio Fast Track audio interface, record my Yamaha FG acoustic guitar and my deep baritone voice. That is the reason I got exactly this microphone. It does great work recording both of them.

There's only one con, for those who record in their bedroom. It will capture the sound of how your wife washes the dishes in the kitchen and other noises, with every door closed. So you'll have to work a little bit to isolate yourself.

Also don't forget that you need mic-preamp, because Rode NT1-A requires 48V Phantom power.

It's such a pleasure to work with such equipment, even though it is just a budget microphone. If you are a beginner musician, you will be lucky to have Rode NT1-A.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
exrtemly good mic for amateur or not
Veindried, 26.12.2018
overall the delivery and the supporrt from the site is perfect! the mic came to me in about one and a half weeks. perfect quality well balanced!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
HIMA, 03.01.2019
At this price range I figure this the best option out there. Great clarity and solid construction.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording

$142 €128.57
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Large Diaphragm Microphones
Large Diaphragm Microphones
They pick up any sound! In this guide, we have tracked down the most popular condenser microphones for you.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(765)
Recently Viewed
Shure SE215-CK

Dynamic sound-isolating in-ear earphones Special edition exclusively available from Thomann, Dynamic micro-driver, Shields over 90% of ambient noise, Suitable for in-ear monitoring as well as HiFi listener for e.g. MP3 player, Ear-insertion, Impedance: 20 Ohm, Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL/mW,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Yamaha Stagepas 1k

Yamaha Stagepas 1k, portable active PA system, 1000W (HF:190W+LF:810W) power output, 12" subwoofer for low frequency, 1.5" x10 slim line array speaker for high frequency, digital mixer (3 mono mic/line + 1 stereo line), multi band comp mode for master...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix BASS9 Bass Machine

Effects pedal for electric guitar Generates different bass sounds from the instrument signal, No special pickups necessary, With a new algorithm that has been revised for transposing one to two octaves down with superior dynamics and optimised tracking, 9...

(1)
Recently Viewed
XVive U3C Microphone Wireless System

Digital wireless microphone transceiver system For use with condenser microphones, Integrated phantom power: 48 V / 12 V, Works without battery or mains power, Integrated rechargeable lithium rechargeable battery, Range up to 20 m / 70 ft. (without obstacles),...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser HD-600 New Version 2019

Headphones Vibrant, Open, Circumaural, Impedance: 300 Ohm, Sound pressure level: 97 dB, Transmission range: 12 - 39,000 Hz, Two-sided cable routing, 3 m Cable with 3.5 mm jack connection, Weight without cable: 253 g, Weight with cable: 309 g,...

Recently Viewed
Roland DJ-707M

Roland DJ-707M; DJ-Controller; 4-channel Serato DJ Pro controller with 4 decks; combines a portable live sound audio mixer, loudspeaker management system and performance DJ controller; built-in 24-bit/48 kHz audio interface; 4-band output EQ, multiband compressor and limiter on each Master,...

Recently Viewed
Stairville BEL1 Battery Event Light 15W

Battery-Powered RGBAW LED Spotlight Flexible spotlight with integrated battery for ambient lighting, Beautifully subdued housing makes possible an unobtrusive set-up, High light output and vivid colour rendering ensure an impressive ambience, Battery operation and the intuitive menu enable a...

Recently Viewed
Polyend Poly 2

Polyend Poly 2; MIDI to CV interface; supports all Midi USB controllers with class compliance; USB Type B port for direct connection to computer/DAW; four gate & pitch outputs; first, next & channel mode; twelve configurable CV outputs; scales function;...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Marshall Kilburn II Black

Portable Bluetooth Speaker Loudspeaker equipment: 20 W Woofer and 2 x 8 W tweeter, Class D power amplifier, Frequency range: 52 - 20,000 Hz, Bluetooth Standard V 5.0, Input: 3.5 mm Mini jack for MP3 player etc., Volume control....

Recently Viewed
KMA Audio Machines Logan Overdrive

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Open and very touch-responsive, High-headroom-design (up to 25 dB)solos, Perfect for use as a preamplifier with IR Cab-Sim or amp-less, 3-band Active EQ with adjustable middle frequency, Middle footswitch to boost solos,...

Recently Viewed
Stairville BEL1+ Battery Event Light 15W

Battery-Powered RGBAW LED Spotlight Flexible spotlight for ambient lighting, with integrated battery and wireless DMX, Beautifully subdued housing makes possible an unobtrusive set-up, High light output and vivid colour rendering ensure an impressive ambience, Battery operation and a cableless...

Recently Viewed
Sequenz Volca Rack

Synthesizer Rack Offers enough room for up to 4 Korg Volcas, Sturdy aluminium frame, Rubber legs for a secure hold, Side panels are made from wood, Asymmetrical side panels enable 2 different kinds of installation, Dimensions: 411 x 242...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.