Shure SE215-CL

1834 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • Outside Noise Isolation
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great Headphones for great price
Simon St., 17.02.2014
Hi!
At first i would like to excuse my insufficient English skills.
I'm from germany, but i'll do my best, so that you can understand my opinion on this product.
It took me a long time to choose a price range.
At last i decided to spend 100-150EUR.
I compared the Shure Se 215 + Shure 315 + tBone Ep7 and the Se 215 won, but why?

All 3 In-Ear Headphones sound great, so you'll propably be happy with each one of them :) But i'll try to compare them.

The tBones have a great sound in the lows.
The bass is very direct and deep.
Mids + Highs are ok.
They look pretty good.

The Se 315 have a bit less bass .
But for me it seems like the high frequencies are a bit clearer and better.

The Se 215 sounds very very similar.
There's only a bit less resolution.
They sound only a tiny bit "muffled " compared to the 315.
But I got the impression, that the bass in the 215 is a bit more present than in the se 315 ( even it's not that clear).

For me the tBones have 2 problems :
- You can't change the cable ( when the cable is broken, you have to buy completely new ones)
- You can't bend the cable to you ears that good.

That's why they lost.

The difference between the 215 + 315 were very slight.
That's why i decided to use the 215, and i did not regret that.

Btw the 215 are also great headphones for listening to music.
A very clear sound :)

I hope you understand everything.
If you want to spend only a few money but you want to have good quality, you should go for the Se215.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Is Nick a name?, 21.09.2020
I am a drummer and use this for monitoring and click track both in rehearsals and live. As I don't need anything fancy, just decent enough sound isolation and accurate enough sound playback they are a great fit.
Used mine for over 2 years without any issue... stepped on them a couple of times during this period. One connector finally snapped, got a new pair.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Habe sie zweimal Gekauft
gzy_, 28.08.2020
Diese Kopfhörer sind für mich ein Arbeitswerkzeug, sie tun das was sie machen sollen. Habe sie mit überall wo ich bin, und beim auflegen oder beim Musizieren dichten sie sehr gut ab. Hatte sie auch schon mal uneingesteckt bei nem Festival in Verwendung, wegen vergessener Ohrstöpseln ;)

Hören tun sich die In-Ear für mein Empfinden super an, und das wichtigste: sie haben guten Halt. Sind angenehm lange zu tragen und bleiben auch drinnen, wenn man sie einmal rein-tut.

Und weil die Schaumstoff- oder Gummiaufsätze einfach abnehmbar sind, sind sie einfach zum Reinigen. Vor allem mit dem mitgelieferten Werkzeug.

Man merkt halt schon, dass die Hörer kein Freizeitprodukt sind, wegen nicht inkludiertem Mikrofon. Das ist leider ihr einziges Manko.

Sonst kann ich sie an jedem Empfehlen die für einen Angemessenen preis Kopfhörer wollen die Einfach funktionieren
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Excellent in-ear
Mr Transistor, 07.02.2015
I am a little bit of a headphone-freak. I tried a few brands: Etymotic, Shure, Sony, Sennheiser, Boss (yes, they make in-ear headphones), Apple...

I really like my Sennheiser HD600. Great headphones: linear, dynamic, distortion free and comfortable. With the new ear-pads and head-pad they are back as they were brand new.

I was a little bit sceptical about the SE215. I was in love with my Shure E4C. Really good in-ear headphones. Solid bass, clear treble, balanced mids and excellent noise isolation. Unfortunately, the cable broke a few months ago and it wasn't replaceable with a Shure one. I replaced it with another cable but the E4C were falling into pieces.

I decided I didn't want to spend a fortune in new headphones; the SE215 looked reasonably priced so I decided to give it a go.

* Comfort
In-ear headphones can be a little bit of a problem for some people. Especially the bit that goes inside the ear can hurt after a while.

The body fits in my ears perfectly. It shows that Shure put his experience in in-ear designing in the SE215. The tips are soft and don't produce excessive pressure inside the ear.

The SE215 come with 6 pairs of tips. 3 are made of special foam that adapts to the ear shape. The other 3 are more conventional.

* Cable
The cable is Kevlar® reinforced and it is thick. Much thicker than the average headphone. This makes it mechanically robust, electrically transparent and not prone to get tangled.

The drawback is that touching the cable induces some mechanical noise in the earpieces. Frankly it is not a problem for me but it might be a problem for some.

The SE215 are design to have the cable going around the ear. The cable has a semi-rigid cover in the last few centimetres before the earpieces. This allows the cable to be pre-shaped so every time is ready for your ears. It works great for me but some people may prefer the extra flexible cable used by other brands/models.

Last but not least, the cable is detachable. Yes, you can unplug it from the earpieces, replace it and your headphones are back as new. It is a great idea that I would like to see more often.

* Body
I purchased the clear/transparent version because I like how it looks but the SE215 are available in black as well.

The body is made of solid plastic. There are no semi-rigid parts that inevitably after a few years simply disintegrate.

* Isolation
It is very good. Perhaps too good - I don't recommend them while cycling.

The isolation is so effective that I find hard to understand why people buy active noise-cancellation headphones. In my opinion, the only case where noise-cancellation headphones makes sense is when in-ear cannot be used (e.g. because of the ear shape or if one has ears that cannot tolerate in-ears)

* Sound
They sound so good... I can't take them off. The SE215 pulverise my old Shure E4C. In comparison, the E4C sound like music on the telephone.

The bass is clear and powerful but not overpowering. Trebles are clear and defined. Mids are balanced. The best thing after my HD600.

* Conclusions
If you look for a good headphones that deliver clear, powerful and solid sound the SE215 are an excellent choice.

If own cheap headphones, do yourself a favour and buy the Shure SE215. Portable music will never be the same.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Bought them for the second time
Manuel Lupen, 06.02.2020
I got used to them, I know there's better stuff out there but for it's price does the job pretty well, on my first pair that I used for two seasons I lose contact with one side. (L side cracks)
However to use it on a daily and jump everywhere with it I think that's what you can expect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Massively Improved Performance
LydF, 12.05.2020
My first experience with in-ears so I don't have anything to compare them to, but using these has made singing live SO much easier. If you're debating whether to make the switch yourself, do it! Will never go back to stage monitors.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Industry Standard for a Reason!
Schengis, 24.06.2019
As a drummer on the road, I was looking for a set of in ears that I could use on stage as well as to drown out the cacophony inside the band bus. The Shure SE215 definitely suffices.

Now, these definitely aren't "noise-cancelling headphones", but "sound isolating in-ear headphones" is still an accurate description for them. The foam ear pieces do their job well. I Personally had to switch back and forth between the M and L sizes before I got my preference nailed down, but I'm satisfied with how they fit. That being said, if you're sweaty at all, you'll find that the buds do tend to slide out on their own at times, but that's more of a personal problem. Thankfully the wire reinforcements for the over-the-ear cable part are sturdy and easily customizable to fit your ear's shape.

The sound they produce is quite enjoyable. As I mentioned, I use them in the bus to listen to music as well as on stage for monitoring. The overall tone is warm and the flavor it gives my in-ear mix on stage is pleasant.

Simply put: It's also a decent set of headphones and also a solid monitoring system.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Good value
AndyMacUnfraidh, 07.04.2020
Good value, good product, highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Have been using poor IEH and these are much better
Ed Bray, 21.06.2018
I have been using various cheap in ear headphones to listen to the mix when recording, I got fed up with the poor sound and decided to go with something a bit better. Not being able to afford £1000 in ear phones I decided to go to the top of the bottom end and chose some that at least had a reasonable name and would fit the bill.

I really like these in ear phones, the squidgy ear pieces work great and completely block out external sounds, the sound from the phones is full and distinctive and more than suitable for their use as monitors of our sound.

There have been some concerns about their durability, but as soon as I have finished using them they go straight back into their case and I have not noticed and issues as yet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
The ''Go-to''
Art lé Epic, 16.05.2019
In this price range you couldn't go wrong with 215s. Unless you aren't going for custom mades and you are a vocalist, guitarist or any other instrumentalist then they are the perfect gateway to the world of IEs.

They'll last for ever cause you can buy spare parts so easily and the bag they come in is keeping them safe anyways.

If you want to brag about anything it might be the sound - they run on only one driver - but there isn't a drastic difference between the SE425s and 215s.
IMO if you want to take it to the next level buy the custom mades (Ultimate ears, 64 Audio etc.).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
One of many
Bider, 03.12.2019
I used many sets of this model and I must admit, they are not solid and designed to work on a professional stage. I use them as a backup monitor headphones, but they're even not in hi-fi department. However, you may use them as your first IEM.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great for drummers
MonikaK, 13.06.2014
I use these in-ear-phones when playing drums and they are really good for musicians. The headphones cancel out the noise just the right amount to play along to some music and still hear what you are playing.
I have used these for over a year and they still work perfectly even though I read some reviews before purchasing that they will break easily. I am sure that they will work for another year and when they eventually break, i can easily replace the cable and use them for even longer.
I really like the sound quality despite being the cheaper headphones from the Shure SE series.
I also think that they are great for studio and live drummers as you can wear them for a long time without hurting your ears.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great for the price
J.MC, 05.05.2020
I have owned my In-ear headphones for almost 3 years now and have used them heavily. I have only had to replace the cable once before and that was after 2 UK tours, hundreds of practice sessions and while mixing some college studio sessions. They withstand sweat and some tugging. The replaceable earbuds are brilliant. I used 1 set of the foam tips for 3 years and have finally changed them to the rubber ones provided with the initial purchase.
The only con is the fact that if you wear them for more than 2-3 hours, they get a little uncomfortable. I have mainly had this discomfort while using them while laying on my side with the earbuds in my ear. It would also be nice if the cable was less than 50% of the original purchase price since £80 for a replacement cable for earbuds that were around £125 is a bit high.
Overall, these have withstood heavy usage in live, studio, day-to-day, and even gym scenarios.
The sound quality is good enough to mix tracks on somehow and the noise isolation can make a drum kit near silent.
Buy these in-ears if you want affordable professional quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Perfect sound!
pepepe, 12.11.2018
These are my first in-ear headphones and I have to say that I am truly impressed with the sound and comfort straight out of the box. Cable is long enough even though I bought an extension for live use. I been using them last week playing with my band for a TV show 10 hours a day on stage with these in-ear headphones all day long, The end of the day my ears was still calm and that was I surprise to me, very comfortable and the smooth and flat sound makes you feel pretty good even after a whole day of playing. Nice work, Shure!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Reliable and robust
Topshitsoundguy, 01.02.2019
I've been using this model as a daily in-ear bud for my phone for some years now, and have only re-ordered a pair because I lost them. Comfortable fit with malleable wire that grips the ear. Noise cancellation is not complete of course, but very good. The cable is even long enough to back-pocket. I would use these as IEMs and have no issues using them when exercising.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
good monitors
Sorin S, 22.10.2019
I'm using them when I play drums and isolate the noise very well.
I had some issues with the comfort, at the beginning but now it's fine (after 6 months of use)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
amazing
Pickniclas, 06.07.2019
They come with a lot of parts so you can choose whatever fits in your ear and also the cable is exchangable. The original Shure cables are very expensive, but there are cheaper ones on amazon that do the job just as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Amazing quality, better price.
25.06.2015
I had for a while been struggling with whether or not I should go ahead and purchase a set of in ear monitors and when I found these I needn't look further. When they arrived I was delighted to see that they were incredibly well built with a great little carry case which fits perfectly in a stick bag or rucksack.

My main concert as a somewhat heavy handed drummer was whether or not the the isolation would be good enough without having to drive them to hard to hear what was being played.

That wasn't an issue at all I can even use my phone pushed about half way and still have a crystal clear signal.

The only issues I would say I have are that the ear buds are somewhat difficult to remove and that the audio is some what lacking in the bottom end.
For general music enjoying on the go these would do the job but as a musician I would really only use them for recording and gigging, just bare in mind that the lower end of the frequency spectrum isn't as well defined and therefore you may perhaps struggle to hear some of the bass parts, so perhaps just make sure to try and mix them a little higher.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Awesome phones!
02.03.2015
I purchased these headphones to complement an IEM transmitter unit(also purchased from thomann) as the included headphones were of a low quality(no environmental noise cancelling)

These head phones come with 2 x sets of ear buds, Foam and Rubber.
I personally use one Foam bud on the drumkit side of my head and a Rubber bud on the other side of my head. This is because the foam bud almost cuts out too much sound when playing and i found that to have both sides using the foam buds cut out too much for my liking so having one rubber bud allows some more environmental sound bleed through while still providing protection from the high SPL of live stage.

Sound wise these are great for me, very crisp and an adequate amount of low frequency. They are not going to out perform triple drivers but for my purpose they work perfectly.

One point I would make is that as a guitar player I change instruments several times during a show, hence i have to feed the headphone cable down underneath my shirt(as the guitar strap would pull the phones out of my ears) but even with the cable fed down under my shirt the guitar strap still puts pressure on the cable and pulls the phones from my ears. If shure supplied a clip for your collar this would save a lot of discomfort!

Overall, A quality set of headphones for the Stage or for that matter for every day use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
EncaIo, 05.11.2018
amazing in-ears for its price , you pay less and you get more!
i already did 3 lives with them and im so happy with them! They are great for singers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Excellent in-ears set
David O' Grady, 30.07.2018
For the price this set punches above its weight... very clear, crisp audio... and surprisingly good cancellation of ambient noise levels.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great headphones for this money
mk755, 30.12.2019
I'm a guitar player and these headphones are great for me as a monitoring. Relationship: price - money, great. Recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great budget in ear
Stephane4242, 03.06.2019
I recently joined a band where the all used in-ear. I didn't want to pay too much for my first pair as they all used the high end Shure model (SE846 at over €600...if i'm not mistaken - gulp !)
So as a rookie I tried the cheap end of the spectrum. I am completely sold they are amazing. They render great stereo image of the mix. very well balanced.
These come with 2 types of ear tips, soft rubber and foam, both in 3 size S M or L
The rubber will not render the bass as good at the foam, but they are light and are blocking the sound very well
I personally use the foam ones, they render great bass and sufficient mid and highs to my hearing. However I find the tips a little uncomfortable after 2hours of use. they can irritate the skin slightly the day after.
Overall a very good, cheap first buy. if you are looking for reliable, good , first pair of in-ear, with a reputable name, go for it. if you are looking for a more refined sound, go for the higher models but it won't be the same budget. I would recommend the 215 no problem
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Best by a mile in their category
03.05.2016
I bought these to be IEM's with my wireless set up and they were fantastic.
Stayed in ears no problem at all with volume for days and excellent sound reproduction. They soon became my gym headphones and finally my everyday go to's. They really sound that good.

The passive noise cancelling is also very good and the wide variety of included tips is great!

they are reasonably comfortable to wear but after a long while, my ears did start to ache somewhat.
the quality is great, however my pair did suffer a faulty driver. After a few months too!

I wrote to shure who happily replaced the product, not just the driver! Excellent customer service
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
comfort
Outside Noise Isolation
Great quality for the value.
03.03.2017
These headphones are pretty good.

The sound quality is pretty good, it is definitely good considering the price. I can't compare them to any other ones considering I've never used better.

The comfort is fair, they aren't that noticeable when you just listen for pleasure. I use them mostly when I drum and I forget about them.

They cancel a good bit of the sound. I find that using the medium foam covers on the in-ears cancels sound better than the large ones. I would compare them to the Vic Firth SIH1.

Overall good product for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SE215-CL

$92 €79.31
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
In-Ear Monitoring
In-Ear Monitoring
In-Ear monitoring - reasonable prices since a few years only - a real bliss for any live musician. Why? Find out here..
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(5)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-SR

Behringer RD-6-SR; Analog Drum Machine; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for intensity and tone;...

Recently Viewed
Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele

Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele, concert ukulele, signature, top and body sapele, nato neck, hardwood neck laminated, neck binding, 16 frets, nut width 35mm (1,375"), scale 381mm (15"), fishman kula preamp, open gear runers, abalone rosette, finish black satin with...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 Roasted IB

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alder body, Bolt-on neck: Roasted Canadian flamed maple, Roasted maple fretboard, Fretboard inlays: Black offset dots, Neck profile: Modern C, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Graph Tech TUSQ...

Recently Viewed
Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humb. Neck

Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humbucker Neck; Telecaster Humbucker; Resistance: 10.1 - 10.7k; Color: Chrome

Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox 96 Studio Ult 25th An

USB Audio Interface Recording Set Consists of AudioBox USB 96 25th Anniversary Edition, Studio One Artist + Studio Magic Plugin Suite (Ableton - Live Lite, Arturia - Analog Lab Lite 3 and many more) (ESD download), Eris E3.5 active...

Recently Viewed
Nux Optima Air NAI 5

Nux Optima Air NAI 5; Effects Pedal for Electric & Acoustic guitar; dual-switch acoustic guitar simulator with a preamp for acoustic and electric guitar, 15 built-in acoustic guitar profiles with IR level control, 9 Preset slots; Controls: Reverb, IR Level,...

Recently Viewed
Toontrack SDX Legacy Of Rock

Toontrack SDX Legacy Of Rock (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded at AIR Studios' Studio 1 in London by Eddie Kramer; 5 complete drumsets and a and a large selection of additional snares,...

Recently Viewed
Omnitronic TRM-202 MK3

Omnitronic TRM-202 MK3; 2-channel rotary mixer with 3-band frequency isolator for DJs; classic rotary mixer with 2 input channels and integrated 3-band frequency isolator for DJs; gain control, 2-way equalizer (Highs/Lows) and phono/line switching per channel; dedicated boost and kill...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Magma CTRL Case MPC One

Magma CTRL Case MPC One, suitable for Akai MPC One, 6 mm thick and rigid Durashock molded EVA foam and water rejecting polyester exterior shell, Sturdy zipper, Including practical cable organizer panel, Incl. removable egg-foam padding, Compatible with Decksaver cover,...

Recently Viewed
beyerdynamic T1 3rd Generation

beyerdynamic T1 3rd generation high-end Tesla headphones, open back, over ear design, frequence range 5 - 50000 Hz, impendance 32 Ohms, nominal sound pressure level 100 dB (1 mW ), power handling capacity 300 mW, max. SPL 124 dB (300...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-AM

Behringer RD-6-AM; Analog Drum Machine; Acid Smiley Edition; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for...

Recently Viewed
Kala U-Bass Nomad 4 NT

Kala U-Bass Nomad 4 NT, acoustic-electric U-Bass, 20 13/16" (528 mm) scale, 29 3/8" (746 mm) overall length, Mahogany top, Mahogany back and sides, Mahogany neck, 16 frets, Rosewood fingerboard, Graph Tech NuBone nut, composite saddle, custom black die cast...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.