Shure SM 7 B

1165 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
An industry leader that continues to excel
Audio geek, 09.05.2021
We had a complete studio rebuild over the last lockdown Christmas (in the UK) and I specified the SM7B as a solution to our less that acoustically silent studios. We're based in a very large community centre albeit on the very end of the building but have occasional 'background' noise from within the building (dance studios) and large windows in the room with some residential traffic noise from outside. It's not as bad as it sounds but any large diaphragm condenser would be ingesting this noise like a sponge so we had to look at a practical solution. Given the SM7B is large diaphragm dynamic we benefit from all of the goodness of close proximity voice work with a workable rolloff to be able to gate the extraneous noise from being picked up. Add some compression to the captured audio and the resulting broadcast VLs are solid and perfectly audible without hearing the unwanted noise in broadcast. We can't avoid some unwanted noise behind an open link but the SnR ratio in this respect is more than acceptable. We even managed to avoid having yards of acoustic dampening and designed some very aesthetic frames with four sponge pieces to hang nearby to quash odd reflection. The SM7B solves so many issues just by taking it out of the box you can see why Bruce Swedien loved it so much.

This mic is often adopted by the 'podders mainly for its looks and they love having it pride of place which is fair but despite it needing a kick of gain one should listen very carefully to the results and spend some time tuning it to find the sweet spot for your environment. I honestly think once you've found that spot you could put any talent you can find in front of this mic and they'd sound perfect. As an experiment I've done my setting up and capped off all of the EQ and gains controls on the desk. Our diverse range of presenters in the week are known fiddlers but now they all sound superb with nothing more than a fader to open and close the channel. EQ/processing settings? Desk is an Alice Series A, 100Hz rolloff, a -2dB cut at 4kHz and about 1.5dB boost at 10kHz, flat otherwise. Compression is inserted pre-fade at 3:1 soft knee from -18dB upwards (Berry MDX4600).

Less is always more and confidence speaks volumes if you believe in what you're doing. Ears are the best measuring tool and our listeners are a discerning bunch!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best all around mic for Streaming and Video
DavidJB, 26.03.2021
If you have to record in a large and mostly untreated room, this mic is exceptional at making you sound like you're in a much higher treated environment than reality.

It can take some time to dial in the mic to your voice, especially if you're new to the set-up but once you do it's rock solid and will save you hours of time with removing niggling noises and room sound from recording and thus saving you time for post processing.

I use this with a goxlr to stream and does not need a pre-amp, not even a fethead. The Goxlr is more than enough and I have to even tone down the amount of power I send to it. I use this mic to do video and voice overs with and it's a true champion of multi purpose. Like with any mic though, this does especially suffer at longer distances from the recording source.

I did see some concerns about people worrying this would introduce bass into peoples voice, it can emphasise what is there, but will actually make even the most high pitched voice calmer and smoother, including womens voice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Needs no introduction really
Sziklafy, 06.05.2021
We all known the amazing history and quality of this mic. Even if you haven't heard of it's name,you've seen it. It's a legend no doubt. The only thing you really have to look out for is the low output that it has-which means it might need an extra mic preamp,that can boost the signal to the right levels-hopefully without noise- this depends really on which device(s) you're using it with.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank
Iamnotfamous, 29.04.2021
Just unpacked my new Shure SM7B - it is essentially built like a tank, very sturdy. I went for the bundle version, so that I will also have the Thomann FetAmp, as many reviews say this mic is very quiet.
Very satisfied so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
prises
ossam bukhari, 29.04.2021
i love the item easy to handle so cheep
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
HardKoar, 24.03.2021
One of the best, if not the best microphone for harsh vocals, Rock and Metal singers in the business!

Thomann was very fast with delivery, amazing customer service as usual, I'm writing this review as I am about to buy a new keyboard from them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A season Pro
Joe Cromwell , 18.01.2021
This really is a great microphone, i use it for recording vocals, and acoustic guitar and also for podcasting.

Its a solid build, great for low background noise, needs a lot of gain though so if its to be plugged into an audio interface for the PC i would suggest a cloud lifter of some sort to enhance the gain. very happy with this product! side note, it is quite weighty, so just check you get a good quality mike boom arm so it doesn't drop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Lovely Mic
Scouser, 07.05.2021
I have found this to be a great mic, especially if you don't have a great room to record in, it records less of the room and more of what is in front of it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Just what I expected!
Leo K, 11.12.2020
Great quality and sound. Now I can record whatever I like inside my non-treated bedroom studio. The capabilities of the SM7B are well-known so I won't be getting into details. I bought mine as a bundle along with an XLR cable and the TritonAudio FetHead pre amp, however, the current bundle now consists of another pre-amp. I suggest you buy it as a bundle whatsoever, as you're gonna need the extra juice from the mic pre-amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wonderful performance
Mohammed Hamed, 21.02.2021
This’s exactly what I was looking for , great performance great sound quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
very good
MOHNNAD, 04.02.2021
it's good thing and i'm very happy with it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good Sound, well manufactured
The Jordanator, 06.10.2020
Sounds great and built like a tank. Good frequency response though you really have to drive it with gain. Instead, I've been using it with a triton fethead.

Main thing I don't like is that it's a bit awkwardly shaped. Not a problem most of the time until it is. In particular the xlr jack on the bottom is caused a couple of mounting issues, especially when mounted with a fethead. Not the end of the world and I'm sure it will actually be helpful in certain circumstances.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It is what they say it is
Ghost Town Kermit, 17.12.2020
I run an internet radio station and was looking to upgrade my main mic from the Rode NT1A I was using because the Rode just picks up too much ambient noise. I got the SM7B and a Thomann FetAmp to go with it and I am so glad I did. My voice sounds so much better and fuller than before. I have an RE20 and a Procaster in the studio as well but this is the one for me. It sounds, looks and feels like quality. Because it is.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can do everything with this great mic.
Georgy B, 28.02.2020
If you're running a small project or home studio with little acoustic treatment, you can't go wrong with this mic. I use it for podcast, as a room mic and of course for what is most known for, vocals and voice overs on Youtube. Make sure you get a good audio interface or consider adding Cloudlifter or Fethead. Team at Thomann also very helpful and had a fast delivery!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great addition to a home studio
GSB , 30.11.2020
Decided to pull the trigger on this after using cheap condenser mics, it has been a revelation!! No more honky vocals now!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM 7 B
Nice sound, 04.12.2020
Great for all recordings with proximity effect and for podcasting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
amazing
Audiofrequence, 16.12.2020
incredible insulation, never a mechanical noise when touching the mic.
The sound is so smooth, a pleasure to hear from this mic.
It was the choice of Michael Jackson, and I know why now.
A powerful preamp is needed because the sensitivity is quite low, a Scarlet is a little weak for podcasting. A Fethead or Cloudlifter could help in case of lowcost preamp, but with a good one, you don't need that booster. I use a Sonosax or a Focusrite Isa and that's perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Top quality microphone, try the rest, but buy the best
Simon_j, 23.03.2021
Having used various microphones and setups over the years, this microphone really packs a punch. It has low end gain, so a fethead/phantom power is required. But once set up it has extremely crisp and subtle effects.
I use it for live streaming and it has revolutionised my sound. The ability to use it while playing acoustic guitar, while not picking up the full sounds of acoustic is impressive.

This is a top class microphone, well worth the investment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic! (one annoying design flaw)
gazoneill, 05.04.2021
The ratings speak for themselves. This mic is fantastic, so versatile. One thing that's really annoying the the placement of the XLR connector. It's just in an awkward spot, and if you're connecting it to a table stand (and with a Fethead, in my case) it's just kind of awkward. Easy to look past it though, 10/10 otherwise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Poeta, 07.12.2019
Very good quality microphone, in terms of sound or components. Great for recording speech and singing.
I bought it because I loved the sound of it on James Hetfield voice in Metallica albums like Load or Reload. Even the latest Hardwired to Self Destruct was recorded on it. It gives a big vocal sound that cuts through the mix.
It?s easy to put it sounding even better in any DAW, with plug-ins while singing and practing, or on the mixing stage after recording. And plus, it concentrates on the voice or source sound, while cancelating other noises in the room, due to its cardioid figure. And it does that job very well.

The only negative side that It has, is that it needs a good preamp to boost the signal without distorting it or adding noise, so it can work well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A classic for a reason
DeadRituals, 29.10.2019
The SM7B is a great mic, but if you are a beginner you should consider that it takes a lot of gain and you might struggle to use it with cheaper preamps. Consider purchasing something like a FetHead or a CloudLifter along with it so you can use it at a decent volume and minimize noise floor. I use this for broadcast and also music recording - tried it on snare drum and guitar amps
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love this microphone
MGray, 21.04.2021
I really love this microphone, for podcast and singing sounds great. Requires a bit of work to make it sit well in a mix due to it's rather dark nature, but nothing you can't work around.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
plug, play and smile
Scotland rises, 17.07.2020
I don't even need to review this.
Look at pro studios globally, watch interviews with stars, watch recording legends in studio videos and you'll see them wailing at this mic, and with good cause........
it responds, and captures everything you want, it's rich, it's clear, it's worth every cent.
Stand back and wail, or get up close and whisper in it's ear
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

$389
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
Chapman Guitars ML1 Modern Baritone Red Sea

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Top: Flamed maple veneer, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Ebony with dot inlays, Nut width: 42 mm, Radius: 350 mm, Frets: 24, Scale: 711 mm (28"), Pickup system: Chapman Sonorous Zero Baritone humbucker, Controls: 1 Master volume,…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser MKE 400 MKII

Sennheiser MKE 400 MKII - condenser camera microphone, polar pattern: supercardioid, integrated windscreen, internal suspension, frequency response: 50 Hz - 20 kHz, switchable sensitivity: -23 / -42 / -63 dBV / Pa, max. SPL 132 dB SPL, 2 - 10V…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.