Shure SM 7 B

837 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Famous Legend Microphone and sound
Cris Christopher, 23.06.2020
Use
I bought this especially for my online music lessons, singing lessons, vocal recording, and instrument recording. This a beautiful microphone. The package comes with helpful accessories especially the 2 microphone windshield. The first one is attached to the microphone which is good for singing, talking, and instruments. The second one is very good for podcasting, speaking, live streaming, etc. It gives you more intimate sound, more present especially for talking. If you are on a budget I would highly recommend this or keep this in your future purchase.

Just a piece of advice, this microphone is heavy, so make sure to but a good quality desk microphone arm/ microphone stand.

Pros
Beautiful, sturdy, Amazing quality sound, Really good for Online lessons and recording. Good price, Easy to set up with complete accessories you need.

Cons
None
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can do everything with this great mic.
Georgy B, 28.02.2020
If you're running a small project or home studio with little acoustic treatment, you can't go wrong with this mic. I use it for podcast, as a room mic and of course for what is most known for, vocals and voice overs on Youtube. Make sure you get a good audio interface or consider adding Cloudlifter or Fethead. Team at Thomann also very helpful and had a fast delivery!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I have tried many microphones over the year but this one is the one I like the most. The good looking, the sound and materials quality. Does not alternate the tone of your voice and captures every single detail. Is a little bit heavy meaning you need to get a good mic stand, otherwise just amazing. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Poeta, 07.12.2019
Very good quality microphone, in terms of sound or components. Great for recording speech and singing.
I bought it because I loved the sound of it on James Hetfield voice in Metallica albums like Load or Reload. Even the latest Hardwired to Self Destruct was recorded on it. It gives a big vocal sound that cuts through the mix.
It?s easy to put it sounding even better in any DAW, with plug-ins while singing and practing, or on the mixing stage after recording. And plus, it concentrates on the voice or source sound, while cancelating other noises in the room, due to its cardioid figure. And it does that job very well.

The only negative side that It has, is that it needs a good preamp to boost the signal without distorting it or adding noise, so it can work well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect for streaming!
JustLiamGamingTTV, 14.05.2020
I just upgraded from the RODE Procaster to this Shure SM7B and my god does it sound incredible, i run this through my GOXLR and it just sounds so crisp, i'm in love! Fast dispatch and delivery also, will be buying from these guys again, thanks!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What to say?!?!
trollB, 20.03.2020
I had a long time looking to buy this mic and i am impressed. I have used it before in other circumstances, but now as i had more time with it i am blown away what it brings to your vocal record. I am using it for rec hip hop vocals and it is awesome!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Scream for me thomann
bx82x, 03.05.2020
Good quality, excellent for rock/metal screaming vocals, it's very detailed and warm with a good preamp gain level. If you are searching for something that give you thickness and high end details this is a very good mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM 7 B
Dave1584, 21.05.2020
Amazing microphone!!!
Unlike a wife, he is forever, once purchased you don't change him anymore!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love it
Rodica, 11.05.2020
I really love this microphone for vocals and guitar recordings.
I use it with Apollo sound card and the combination is awesome.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic
Amoy, 17.05.2020
Really great product and very happy I went ahead with the purchase. Recommended to all :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My preciousss
Muldor, 01.10.2019
Couple things when looked up close: The 'mid-boost' isn't a boost but a cut; with the switch placed on 'flat' it takes out a couple of db's that could just as easily be equalised after recording, leave it on 'boost' I dare say.

This mike needs some serious encouragement, about 60 dB's. Most microphone amps are great until 40 dB of amplification, above that their quality drops significant, invest in an head amp.

And since this is a dynamic, transformerless moving coil microphone the cable attached to it becomes a part of the signal chain that defines the characteristics of the sound, just like a guitar. The cartridge gives the best response with a short cable; 500 pF terminated with 5 Kohm gives a ruler flat response, assumed that the advertised 150 Ohm impedance is measured at 1 Khz implying the cartridge has an inductance of 24 mH.

All in all the mother of dynamic microphones that sounds great without low- or mid cut, excellent protected against vowel noise and placed shock-proof in a serious sturdy housing. What more to wish? Maybe a build in head amp?

Pros: this is _the_ pro.
Cons: I need more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Actually, best mic ever made...
Alexandru Ghitulescu, 19.12.2019
It is true that this big boy it's quiet...But having 150 ohms impedance and being a fully filtered dynamic mic, is just the best!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic saved me a client!
ScottM, 27.03.2014
Built like a tank, with good audio quality, the Shure SM7B saved a good client for me.

My profession is voice over. For those who do not know that term - I speak for a living doing corporate narrations and such.

A few years ago I got a job recording a narration for one of my favorite clients. The job was at a studio that was new to me. For some reason, though I am almost never nervous before a job - I was for this one.

One of my coaches suggested that I stand when reading the text instead of sitting, so I though to give that a try. There were many script changes at the last minute and the text I was given was very difficult to read while holding in one hand.

That made me even more nervous. The mic in the studio was a Neumann U47, or a very good clone of one. The sound was wonderful from the audio chain, but my performance was not.

Got a copy of the recording and brought it home to give it a listen. It stank!

However, I had just received my Shure SM7B the day before. And though my room was not acoustically treated I decided to rerecord the narration using the Shure.

My performance was 100 percent better than on the U47. Being a dynamic mic the SM7B is more forgiving for a room that is not very well treated. It greatly reduced the room sound, compared to using a condenser mic in the same space. Sent off the new recording to the producer. The end of the story was a happy one: the producer was happy, I was happy and most importantly, the client was happy.

This mic saved me from losing one of my favorite clients!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Absolute Brilliance
jrdnxcvi, 15.01.2020
First of I've bought A LOT of stuff especially microphone related as I'm a singer myself & this microphone is absolute insanity, I love it and I would definitely recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I now understand the hype
31.05.2016
This is a perfect first serious mike for an amateur studio.
Very versatile, records well and easy to achieve a great sound, no matter your studio acoustic insulation.
I used in vocals, acoustic guitars, amps, cabs, drums, cymbals and vertical piano - always a superior sound!
As very often recommended, I bought it with a cloud lifter cl1 and I appears to be a match made in heaven.
All in all, a very good purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect Mic
Soulja, 28.06.2020
great!! for a better quality get the Cloudlifter with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Tolis, 05.02.2020
Is good mic but not for all vocals...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
MICROPHONE OF THE STARS
Dicarlo, 25.06.2018
My dream microphone has always been a Neumann U-87. I finally bought one for my studio last year, and it is an amazing microphone, but not for every voice, because it?s very sensitive. I?d seen a few videos of Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters using an SM 7B in the studio, and did some research to find out what microphone it was. In my research I found the Green Day also records with the SM 7B, and Michael Jackson recorded the entire "Thriller" album with it. It?s a great alternative mic to the Neumann U-87, because it needs a LOT of gain 60db to even function, and you can literally get right up on it and scream without it clipping. And the sound quality is great. Very affordable microphone with amazing sound. Very happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Already knew this was a legendary mic
JDeligero, 21.05.2020
This mic is awesome! Generally flat frequency response so this is super easy to mold and manipulate in post. I bought this mic because my little home studio is not professionally treated so I need a mic that could thrive in this environment and still give me a quality sound!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super for untreated rooms
Endre Ottem, 14.08.2018
I bought this microphone for doing voice overs in an untreated office. It is perfect for my use. There's no background noise and it doesn't record reflections from the rear of the mic, so any sound bouncing from the back wall isn't recorded. It handles plosives very well even if you're not using a pop filter.

I was a bit confused that Thomann's product description indicates that the A7WS and the RK345 wind shields are NOT included, but they're indeed both included in the box - like they're meant to be.

I've attached my SM7B to a Rode PSA-1 table arm, which I highly recommend if you'll be using the SM7B at your desk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing
Baggins, 23.04.2020
Just the best Mic on the market? :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure sm7b is an amazing microphone.
paulos2951, 30.05.2020
Very good service. Quick delivery. Quick product receipt and in very good condition the package. I will order again soon. The Shure sm7b is an amazing microphone, of course I would suggest a pre-amplifier together in the market.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
More than deserving of its legendary status
16.03.2017
Everyone knows that the Shure SM7B is the microphone that was used to record the vocals on Michael Jackon's Thriller; and some might argue this is all you need to know. If you're looking for a robust and responsive vocal microphone this is a great choice. Unlike more traditional Large diaphragm condenser mics, and just like it's little brothers the SM57/58; the SM7B is a dynamic mic. This is great for bedroom producers who want to get quality recordings but struggle with acoustically untreated rooms and background noise. This has also made it a favorite for use on podcasts and radio shows. However the SM7B is more than just a vocal mic. It is brilliant at capturing low frequency content, making it a perfect kickdrum mic; but likewise has great response to highs and mids, recording resonant full-bodied acoustic instruments. In terms of features it comes attached to a mount, allowing for easy re-angling of the microphone; and on the back it has switchable high and low EQ shelves for shaping the frequency response. The only shortfall is that the mic needs a lot of gain to get a good signal, likely due to it not taking phantom power.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

$377 €334.48
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500

DJ Controller Jog wheels with touch recognition, 16 RGB pads with 8 modes (including hot cue, loop, slicer), Vinyl, slip, quantize, loop in / out buttons, Filter controls, 3 band EQ, gain controls, volume controls and VU meters per...

(72)
Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox USB 96 Black

USB Interface 2 x 2 USB 2.0 interface 24-bit / 96 kHz, 2 Mic / instrument inputs: XLR combo jack, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, MIDI input and output, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, USB 2.0...

Recently Viewed
Nektar MIDIFLEX 4

Nectar MIDIFLEX 4; USB midi interface with merge and split options; 4 port autosense operation; flexible operating modes 1 In/3 Out, 2 In/2 Out or 4 Out; multiple MIDIFLEX 4 cascadable; can be used in standalone mode as 2 in...

Recently Viewed
Behringer MIC2200 V2

Behringer MIC 2200 V2 Ultragain Pro - Audiophile Vacuum Tube Microphone/Line Preamplifier; 2-channel; wide bandwidth from 10 Hz to 200 kHz for "open" sound; switchable 48V phantom power; Integrated fully parametric EQs with dedicated center frequency, bandwidth and level controls;...

Recently Viewed
DAngelico Deluxe Bedford Nat Swamp Ash

Electric guitar Body: swamp ash, 3-Piece neck: maple / walnut / maple, Fretboard: Pau Ferro, Mother of Pearl - Abalone Split Block fretboard inlays, Matte neck finish, Neck profile: C, Scale: 629 mm (24.75"), Nut width: 43 mm, Pickups:...

Recently Viewed
Ortega NL-Walker-WH

Ortega NL-Walker-WH classical guitar, traveler Series, cutaway, agathis body, mahogany neck, sonokelin fretboard & bridge, scale 625mm, 19 frets, nut width 43mm, b-band A1.2 pickupsystem, finish white gloss, incl. gig bag, original strings Savarez 510CJ

Recently Viewed
JHS Pedals Bender - Fuzz

JHS Pedals Bender - Fuzz, effects pedal from JHS Pedals 'Legends Of Fuzz' series, based on the 1973 MK3 Silver/Orange Tonebender, wide range of possible sounds with flexible tone control, switchable JHS mode for more gain and a mid frequency...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer CP1A

Behringer CP1A; power supply module for Eurorack systems; LED indicators for +12V, -12V and +5V rails; connectors for 2 flying bus boards; power rating: 1A (+12V) / 1A (-12V) / 0.5A (+5V); width: 4 HP; depth: 52mm: including: external power...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Stockwell II Black

Marshall Stockwell II Black Bluetooth Speaker, 2x 10 W Woofer, 2x 5W Tweeter, class D amplifier, bluetooth 5.0, Multi-Host-Funktion (simply switch between two bluetooth devices), frequency 60-20000 Hz, input: 1x 3,5mm stereo jack, controls: volume, bass & treble, upt to...

Recently Viewed
Klark Teknik Mic Booster CM-2

Klark Teknik Mic Booster CM-2, Dynamic Microphone Booster; preamps provide up to +25 dB gain; powered with 48 V phantom power; 2 XLR inputs / outputs; Frequency range 10 Hz to 20 kHz (± 1 dB); Dimension 65 x 39...

Recently Viewed
Fender LTD Trad. Japan Strat LH FRD

Electric Guitar Left-hand model, Limited edition, Body: Basswood, Bolt-on neck: Maple, Fretboard: Rosewood, Neck profile: U, Fretboard inlays: White dots, Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Fretboard radius: 184.1 mm (7.25"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Bone nut, 21 Vintage frets,...

Recently Viewed
Turbosound TS-12W350/8W

Turbosound TS-12W350/8W, 12" Woofer, 8 Ohms, 350 Watts RMS, 1400 Watt Peak, 61 Hz - 3 kHz, SPL: 95 dB (1 W / 1 m), Rigid aluminum die-cast frame, Mounting hole diameter: 299 mm (11.77"), Overall Diameter: 316 mm (12.44"),...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.