Shure SM 7 B

929 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good Sound, well manufactured
The Jordanator, 06.10.2020
Sounds great and built like a tank. Good frequency response though you really have to drive it with gain. Instead, I've been using it with a triton fethead.

Main thing I don't like is that it's a bit awkwardly shaped. Not a problem most of the time until it is. In particular the xlr jack on the bottom is caused a couple of mounting issues, especially when mounted with a fethead. Not the end of the world and I'm sure it will actually be helpful in certain circumstances.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank. This mic is gonna last forever
ArisD, 26.08.2020
The sound quality of this product is exactly what you'd expect. Professional, clean and robust. So far I've just used it on Voice Over and it has performed well. I recorded a little bit of vocals through it and I can tell it will be excellent at this too. I do wish the filters were a bit easier to adjust, but I understand why they are engineered as they are. It is to prevent someone from accidentally changing the filters/roll off. I think the product is worth the price, especially if you haven't already invested in a lot of other dynamic mics.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect
Brian Mco, 20.09.2020
Worth every penny and works flawlessly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can do everything with this great mic.
Georgy B, 28.02.2020
If you're running a small project or home studio with little acoustic treatment, you can't go wrong with this mic. I use it for podcast, as a room mic and of course for what is most known for, vocals and voice overs on Youtube. Make sure you get a good audio interface or consider adding Cloudlifter or Fethead. Team at Thomann also very helpful and had a fast delivery!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Famous Legend Microphone and sound
Cris Christopher, 23.06.2020
Use
I bought this especially for my online music lessons, singing lessons, vocal recording, and instrument recording. This a beautiful microphone. The package comes with helpful accessories especially the 2 microphone windshield. The first one is attached to the microphone which is good for singing, talking, and instruments. The second one is very good for podcasting, speaking, live streaming, etc. It gives you more intimate sound, more present especially for talking. If you are on a budget I would highly recommend this or keep this in your future purchase.

Just a piece of advice, this microphone is heavy, so make sure to but a good quality desk microphone arm/ microphone stand.

Pros
Beautiful, sturdy, Amazing quality sound, Really good for Online lessons and recording. Good price, Easy to set up with complete accessories you need.

Cons
None
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It's amazing!
Roxs9, 17.08.2020
I've had this mic for 7 months now and it works amazingly, especially with the (cloud filter) I purchased with it it makes it very clean to record.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I have tried many microphones over the year but this one is the one I like the most. The good looking, the sound and materials quality. Does not alternate the tone of your voice and captures every single detail. Is a little bit heavy meaning you need to get a good mic stand, otherwise just amazing. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great response
SebRex, 11.10.2020
I love this mic, It works great for voice and instrument recording. I truly recommended. You may need a pre-amp. I am using a Focusrite scarlet and needed something to make it loader.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Poeta, 07.12.2019
Very good quality microphone, in terms of sound or components. Great for recording speech and singing.
I bought it because I loved the sound of it on James Hetfield voice in Metallica albums like Load or Reload. Even the latest Hardwired to Self Destruct was recorded on it. It gives a big vocal sound that cuts through the mix.
It?s easy to put it sounding even better in any DAW, with plug-ins while singing and practing, or on the mixing stage after recording. And plus, it concentrates on the voice or source sound, while cancelating other noises in the room, due to its cardioid figure. And it does that job very well.

The only negative side that It has, is that it needs a good preamp to boost the signal without distorting it or adding noise, so it can work well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What to say?!?!
trollB, 20.03.2020
I had a long time looking to buy this mic and i am impressed. I have used it before in other circumstances, but now as i had more time with it i am blown away what it brings to your vocal record. I am using it for rec hip hop vocals and it is awesome!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very well made microphone.
Laard, 03.10.2020
Standard microphone in every studio. Very versatile, but does not do miracles. All in all, great microphone!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love it
Rodica, 11.05.2020
I really love this microphone for vocals and guitar recordings.
I use it with Apollo sound card and the combination is awesome.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM 7 B
Dave1584, 21.05.2020
Amazing microphone!!!
Unlike a wife, he is forever, once purchased you don't change him anymore!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My preciousss
Muldor, 01.10.2019
Couple things when looked up close: The 'mid-boost' isn't a boost but a cut; with the switch placed on 'flat' it takes out a couple of db's that could just as easily be equalised after recording, leave it on 'boost' I dare say.

This mike needs some serious encouragement, about 60 dB's. Most microphone amps are great until 40 dB of amplification, above that their quality drops significant, invest in an head amp.

And since this is a dynamic, transformerless moving coil microphone the cable attached to it becomes a part of the signal chain that defines the characteristics of the sound, just like a guitar. The cartridge gives the best response with a short cable; 500 pF terminated with 5 Kohm gives a ruler flat response, assumed that the advertised 150 Ohm impedance is measured at 1 Khz implying the cartridge has an inductance of 24 mH.

All in all the mother of dynamic microphones that sounds great without low- or mid cut, excellent protected against vowel noise and placed shock-proof in a serious sturdy housing. What more to wish? Maybe a build in head amp?

Pros: this is _the_ pro.
Cons: I need more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic saved me a client!
ScottM, 27.03.2014
Built like a tank, with good audio quality, the Shure SM7B saved a good client for me.

My profession is voice over. For those who do not know that term - I speak for a living doing corporate narrations and such.

A few years ago I got a job recording a narration for one of my favorite clients. The job was at a studio that was new to me. For some reason, though I am almost never nervous before a job - I was for this one.

One of my coaches suggested that I stand when reading the text instead of sitting, so I though to give that a try. There were many script changes at the last minute and the text I was given was very difficult to read while holding in one hand.

That made me even more nervous. The mic in the studio was a Neumann U47, or a very good clone of one. The sound was wonderful from the audio chain, but my performance was not.

Got a copy of the recording and brought it home to give it a listen. It stank!

However, I had just received my Shure SM7B the day before. And though my room was not acoustically treated I decided to rerecord the narration using the Shure.

My performance was 100 percent better than on the U47. Being a dynamic mic the SM7B is more forgiving for a room that is not very well treated. It greatly reduced the room sound, compared to using a condenser mic in the same space. Sent off the new recording to the producer. The end of the story was a happy one: the producer was happy, I was happy and most importantly, the client was happy.

This mic saved me from losing one of my favorite clients!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A classic for a reason
DeadRituals, 29.10.2019
The SM7B is a great mic, but if you are a beginner you should consider that it takes a lot of gain and you might struggle to use it with cheaper preamps. Consider purchasing something like a FetHead or a CloudLifter along with it so you can use it at a decent volume and minimize noise floor. I use this for broadcast and also music recording - tried it on snare drum and guitar amps
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic
Amoy, 17.05.2020
Really great product and very happy I went ahead with the purchase. Recommended to all :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I now understand the hype
31.05.2016
This is a perfect first serious mike for an amateur studio.
Very versatile, records well and easy to achieve a great sound, no matter your studio acoustic insulation.
I used in vocals, acoustic guitars, amps, cabs, drums, cymbals and vertical piano - always a superior sound!
As very often recommended, I bought it with a cloud lifter cl1 and I appears to be a match made in heaven.
All in all, a very good purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic mic
Hreidar , 22.09.2020
I have used this mic now for around 6 monts, Works well on vocals, both in a live setting as well as for cleaner recordings. Have used the mic on drums as well (snare and bass drum) and it works well on those instruments as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
MICROPHONE OF THE STARS
Dicarlo, 25.06.2018
My dream microphone has always been a Neumann U-87. I finally bought one for my studio last year, and it is an amazing microphone, but not for every voice, because it?s very sensitive. I?d seen a few videos of Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters using an SM 7B in the studio, and did some research to find out what microphone it was. In my research I found the Green Day also records with the SM 7B, and Michael Jackson recorded the entire "Thriller" album with it. It?s a great alternative mic to the Neumann U-87, because it needs a LOT of gain 60db to even function, and you can literally get right up on it and scream without it clipping. And the sound quality is great. Very affordable microphone with amazing sound. Very happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Absolute Brilliance
jrdnxcvi, 15.01.2020
First of I've bought A LOT of stuff especially microphone related as I'm a singer myself & this microphone is absolute insanity, I love it and I would definitely recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect choice
norbert hollo, 15.01.2018
this is the perfect choice for my voice. i bought it without testing before but much better that i thought. the mic has a little compressor effect and smoothing the spikes in the recorded sound that much more easier to set the expected volume. the original windshields a little smashes the sound but if you use a simple popfilter instead the result much better. other important thing is the volume level. you will need a lot of power for it. i have an apogee and an apollo audio interface as well and they have enough gain to record without mic preamp but most of the cheaper interfaces that use directly pick up too much noise. it's a dynamic mic with cardioid characteristic but plenty collect outer noises. not like a condenser mic but i think you will can not use on stage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
plug, play and smile
Scotland rises, 17.07.2020
I don't even need to review this.
Look at pro studios globally, watch interviews with stars, watch recording legends in studio videos and you'll see them wailing at this mic, and with good cause........
it responds, and captures everything you want, it's rich, it's clear, it's worth every cent.
Stand back and wail, or get up close and whisper in it's ear
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

$399 €343.10
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Amp/Cab Simulator

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; Fully Analogue Pre-Amp with 3 Classic Voicings: AC-Brit (British Class A 2x12" Combo), American (American Blackface Combo)& MS Brit (British Stack); Zero Watt Stereo Power...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Komplete 13

Plugin Collection Consists of over 65 software instruments, software effects and 24 expansions, Over 35,000 sounds, Includes i.a. Guitar Rig 6 Pro, Super 8, Electric Sunburst, Butch Vig Drums, Cuba, Massive X, Kontakt 6, Session Strings 2, Absynth 5,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Shure BLX24/SM58BK S8

Shure BLX24/SM58 S8, Thomann exclusive Edition, SM Vocal Series, UHF Wireless-System with SM58 handheld transmitter, up to 7 Systems parallel, Pilottone, antenna-Diversity, Quick-Scan to find free frequencies, dynamic SM58 capsule, 50 - 15.000 Hz, cardioid, receiver with plastic housing, internal...

Recently Viewed
Swissonic Webcam 2 Full-HD AF

Swissonic Webcam 2 Full-HD AF; USB business webcam with auto focus for videoconferencing and video streaming; built-in stereo microphone; plug & play without setup; compatible with Mac OS and Windows; multi-functional mount for standing operation or easy mounting on the...

Recently Viewed
Behringer 182 Sequencer

Behringer 182 Sequencer; Eurorack Module; Analog Sequencer; two channels with 8 Steps each; channels can be used in series for 16 Steps; number of steps selectable from 1-8 Steps; Start/Stop switch; manual controls for Tempo, Gate time and Delay (Portamento);...

Recently Viewed
M-Audio Keystation 88 MK3

M-Audio Keystation 88 MK3; USB-MIDI Controller; 88 semi-weighted full-size keys with velocity sensitivity; Transport and Cursor buttons to operate a DAW; volume control slider; Pitch and Modulation wheels; Octave selection buttons; MIDI connection via USB or 5-pin MIDI port;...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Boss Pocket GT Guitar Multi-FX

Boss Pocket GT Guitar Multi-FX, electric guitar multi effects, light and compact, YouTube has become the most popular music learning source for guitarists, the Pocket GT makes working with the platform's content easier and more productive than ever. The Pocket...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Komplete 13 Ult. CE Update 12

Native Instruments Komplete 13 Ultimate Collectors Edition Update from Ultimate Collectors 12; Plugin collection consisting of over 120 software instruments, software effects and 73 expansions; over 115.000 sounds; includes Guitar Rig 6 Pro, Arkhis, Cremona Quartett, Symphony Series Collection, Stradivari...

Recently Viewed
tc electronic Brickwall HD-DT

USB Hardware Controller For TC Brickwall HD Native (plug-in included), For remote control of the Brickwall Limiter plug-in, Direct access by means of a button for all important functions, Two rotary controllers, LED display, Power supply: Bus powered, USB...

Recently Viewed
Zoom V3

Vocal Processor 16 Creative effects for voice processing such as Harmony, Vocoder, Robot, Telephone, Beat Box or Talk Box, Selectable key for the effects Harmony, Talk Box, Vocoder and Pitch Correct, Up to 5 effects can be used at...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design UltraStudio Monitor 3G

Blackmagic Design UltraStudio Monitor 3G; Video output device for 3G-SDI and HDMI playback via laptop or desktop computer equipped with Thunderbolt 3; supports professional SDI and HDMI monitoring in 10-bit broadcast quality of material from common editing software such as...

Recently Viewed
Wampler Belle Overdrive

Wampler Belle Overdrive; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; The Belle circuit is based on a firm favourite Overdrive Pedal in Nashville and Brian Wampler’s unique take delivers everything you would expect; from a warm clean boost at low Gain levels...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.