Shure SM 7 B

1809 Customer ratings

4.9 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

919 Reviews

Shure SM 7 B
$349
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
m
the best microphone ever
mrtullball 04.04.2022
this is mabye one of the best microphones on the marcet. i bought this as my seccond microphone ever. im so happy that i bought it, i loved the sound i got after taking some time with the eq. and the build quality is great, without the shock mount it does not picup the bumping soundt from a table or from the boomarm.

more spesific

the sound you hear on radio or podcast, is not the sound that comes out of the box. if some one on youtube or any website says that the sm7b has a bad sound, they are wrong. becouse then they dint touch the eq or they dint buy the rigt audio interface. and they just lost the main pourpuse of the sm7b, because every big podcaster, streamer, radio use eq to get the perfect sound. but the shure sm7b needs a lot of gain, and if you lift up the gain with a cloud lifter you are doing it wrong because its making a bacround hizz. so if youre going to buy this mic, buy the rigt audio interface with it. most of the sound is in the aoudio interface, i cant say this too much. its a mic many peple can use for everythin like podcast, radio, streaming and singing. absolutly everyone can fall in love with this mic. you just need to ind your need for it.
features
sound
quality
5
2
Report

Report

U
Just as expected
UsualAsAlways 20.01.2022
Great sound. Pretty heavy and well made, I'm not afraid for the transportation. Maybe a preamp or a better audio card (I have UR 22 mk2) with higher input level would be a great addition to this mic, still not having any hissing sounds or any troubles at all with level set on max. Not much to say about features - there are none but let's be honest if you buy this microphone you don't need any other sound patterns.
BUT!
Don't expect the sound quality go sky high if you have a lower priced mic - I had my AKG P120. For multimedia tasks or even some youtube videos it would be more than enough or Presonus PD-70 if you're looking for dynamic mic. This mic just gives you more options for sound processing and other things such as scream vocals. Don't waste money on this one if you are a youtuber or streamer
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

h
Definitely a must have!
h-guy 22.06.2022
Actually another review is not required, because everything was already said about this mic. Check google :)) The only remark - if somebody says this microphone is not good enough then he/she is definitely wrong! It’s an excellent mic. I really like bass filter and high mids boost option. Very convenient and helpful. Do not forget to have a preamp powerful enough to handle low gain signal or use a mic booster between the mic and your preamp.
Cheers!
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Ag
An industry leader that continues to excel
Audio geek 09.05.2021
We had a complete studio rebuild over the last lockdown Christmas (in the UK) and I specified the SM7B as a solution to our less that acoustically silent studios. We're based in a very large community centre albeit on the very end of the building but have occasional 'background' noise from within the building (dance studios) and large windows in the room with some residential traffic noise from outside. It's not as bad as it sounds but any large diaphragm condenser would be ingesting this noise like a sponge so we had to look at a practical solution. Given the SM7B is large diaphragm dynamic we benefit from all of the goodness of close proximity voice work with a workable rolloff to be able to gate the extraneous noise from being picked up. Add some compression to the captured audio and the resulting broadcast VLs are solid and perfectly audible without hearing the unwanted noise in broadcast. We can't avoid some unwanted noise behind an open link but the SnR ratio in this respect is more than acceptable. We even managed to avoid having yards of acoustic dampening and designed some very aesthetic frames with four sponge pieces to hang nearby to quash odd reflection. The SM7B solves so many issues just by taking it out of the box you can see why Bruce Swedien loved it so much.

This mic is often adopted by the 'podders mainly for its looks and they love having it pride of place which is fair but despite it needing a kick of gain one should listen very carefully to the results and spend some time tuning it to find the sweet spot for your environment. I honestly think once you've found that spot you could put any talent you can find in front of this mic and they'd sound perfect. As an experiment I've done my setting up and capped off all of the EQ and gains controls on the desk. Our diverse range of presenters in the week are known fiddlers but now they all sound superb with nothing more than a fader to open and close the channel. EQ/processing settings? Desk is an Alice Series A, 100Hz rolloff, a -2dB cut at 4kHz and about 1.5dB boost at 10kHz, flat otherwise. Compression is inserted pre-fade at 3:1 soft knee from -18dB upwards (Berry MDX4600).

Less is always more and confidence speaks volumes if you believe in what you're doing. Ears are the best measuring tool and our listeners are a discerning bunch!
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

V
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
features
sound
quality
19
0
Report

Report

W
Great on the right source
WillO 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
features
sound
quality
5
2
Report

Report

l
A classic !
laurentschark 08.04.2024
From Michael Jackson to radios, this mic has been used my legendary singers and radio host.

I highly recommend a good pre-amp for the sm7 and you go crank the input as the impedance of this mic is quite high (but that’s what make the sm7b unique).

As a comparison, with flat curve on each mic and same settings on dbx286s, I reach the same output volume with
Sm7 - input set to 8
RE20 - input set to 5 ~ 6


Also, the sm7b is absolutely amazing for soulful voices.
For example I exclusively record my soulful singer friend on the sm7b while I own more expensive mics (including a sphere L22, TLM, etc..)

Please keep in mind that this mic comes with its own cable attached (you can detach it) and you need to be careful while choosing a mic stand. I use a desk mic stand by Rode (the Rode PSA-1)

I love this mic. I would never sell it.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
Amazing sound, no background noise
Lajbert 10.06.2024
It's a great mic for growling death metal vocals. No need for a pop filter or anything like that, and it filters out background noise like crazy, so no need to go overboard when it comes to recording room acoustics.
The only serious issue is that the adaptor tends to get stuck quite badly to the arm, and I had to use two wrenches to get it off, which scraped off the painting from the adaptor, so make sure to apply a good amount of grease before fixing it in place.
Another thing to consider is that your interface must have at least 60dB of gain, otherwise you need a Cloudlifter or some other mic preamp, which is an extra cost. My Apollo Twin X has just enough gain to run it, but I lost a of headroom, so I've paired it up with a Cloudlifter and now it's amazing.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

U
Perfect for screams, great for cleans
UncleVarg 26.12.2021
This microphone sounds absolutely stunning. I hear virtually no room reverberation even in an untreated room. The SM7B is definitely not as detailed as a large condenser, but that is beneficial for me. I have primarily tracked screams with it, to great results. Doing clean vocals is absolutely viable, but I'm personally not a great singer. I find that very little EQ and compression are necessary, the sound of the microphone is consistent (volume-wise).
One word of advice, some people demonstrate the microphone can be used without a pop filter. While this is possible, a pop filter will get you far closer to the desired results, without the help of VSTs.
features
sound
quality
0
1
Report

Report

IJ
Wow!
It’s Just Me ???? 11.08.2021
Hands down, Shure SM7B is an excellent microphone. It's capable of supporting any vocal form, from podcast and voiceover, to rapping or clean and distorted singing, this mic has been build to match everybody's needs. It may also be used to power guitar and bass amplifiers something that I'm looking forward to try.

For the money you spent, this is one of the best mics available. It is constructed like a tank and can last a lifetime if properly maintained.

Just unpacked mine (Shure SM7B) therefore this review comes after a good hour of me and my colleague (singer) playing around with it - it has essentially built-in super quality, very sturdy on the outside. Very satisfied so far with the product and the delivery. My first time buying from Thomann, I'm going to be back for more. Thank you!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Shure SM 7 B