Shure SM 7 B

625 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
70 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A classic for a reason
DeadRituals, 29.10.2019
The SM7B is a great mic, but if you are a beginner you should consider that it takes a lot of gain and you might struggle to use it with cheaper preamps. Consider purchasing something like a FetHead or a CloudLifter along with it so you can use it at a decent volume and minimize noise floor. I use this for broadcast and also music recording - tried it on snare drum and guitar amps
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My preciousss
Muldor, 01.10.2019
Couple things when looked up close: The 'mid-boost' isn't a boost but a cut; with the switch placed on 'flat' it takes out a couple of db's that could just as easily be equalised after recording, leave it on 'boost' I dare say.

This mike needs some serious encouragement, about 60 dB's. Most microphone amps are great until 40 dB of amplification, above that their quality drops significant, invest in an head amp.

And since this is a dynamic, transformerless moving coil microphone the cable attached to it becomes a part of the signal chain that defines the characteristics of the sound, just like a guitar. The cartridge gives the best response with a short cable; 500 pF terminated with 5 Kohm gives a ruler flat response, assumed that the advertised 150 Ohm impedance is measured at 1 Khz implying the cartridge has an inductance of 24 mH.

All in all the mother of dynamic microphones that sounds great without low- or mid cut, excellent protected against vowel noise and placed shock-proof in a serious sturdy housing. What more to wish? Maybe a build in head amp?

Pros: this is _the_ pro.
Cons: I need more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Brilliant Dynamic Mic
domnomnoml, 04.02.2019
I've been using this mic primarily to record voice-overs for home video-productions and the clarity, and quality is fantastic.

I'm looking forward to using this in amore musical context but zero complaints so far.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best mic ever
damiendev, 27.10.2019
my wife use it for singing and sound is really warm and nice
its good to reject the noise of untreated room

cons: the mic is pretty heavy be sure to get a good stand
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
shure SM7 B
soundtech, 21.08.2019
this microphone has really surprised me with great sound
it is also well made and a good pickup pattern
using it for a live on air studio
one point to note these mics require a good high quality input pre amp as the output is quite low from these mics
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic saved me a client!
ScottM, 27.03.2014
Built like a tank, with good audio quality, the Shure SM7B saved a good client for me.

My profession is voice over. For those who do not know that term - I speak for a living doing corporate narrations and such.

A few years ago I got a job recording a narration for one of my favorite clients. The job was at a studio that was new to me. For some reason, though I am almost never nervous before a job - I was for this one.

One of my coaches suggested that I stand when reading the text instead of sitting, so I though to give that a try. There were many script changes at the last minute and the text I was given was very difficult to read while holding in one hand.

That made me even more nervous. The mic in the studio was a Neumann U47, or a very good clone of one. The sound was wonderful from the audio chain, but my performance was not.

Got a copy of the recording and brought it home to give it a listen. It stank!

However, I had just received my Shure SM7B the day before. And though my room was not acoustically treated I decided to rerecord the narration using the Shure.

My performance was 100 percent better than on the U47. Being a dynamic mic the SM7B is more forgiving for a room that is not very well treated. It greatly reduced the room sound, compared to using a condenser mic in the same space. Sent off the new recording to the producer. The end of the story was a happy one: the producer was happy, I was happy and most importantly, the client was happy.

This mic saved me from losing one of my favorite clients!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I now understand the hype
31.05.2016
This is a perfect first serious mike for an amateur studio.
Very versatile, records well and easy to achieve a great sound, no matter your studio acoustic insulation.
I used in vocals, acoustic guitars, amps, cabs, drums, cymbals and vertical piano - always a superior sound!
As very often recommended, I bought it with a cloud lifter cl1 and I appears to be a match made in heaven.
All in all, a very good purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect choice
norbert hollo, 15.01.2018
this is the perfect choice for my voice. i bought it without testing before but much better that i thought. the mic has a little compressor effect and smoothing the spikes in the recorded sound that much more easier to set the expected volume. the original windshields a little smashes the sound but if you use a simple popfilter instead the result much better. other important thing is the volume level. you will need a lot of power for it. i have an apogee and an apollo audio interface as well and they have enough gain to record without mic preamp but most of the cheaper interfaces that use directly pick up too much noise. it's a dynamic mic with cardioid characteristic but plenty collect outer noises. not like a condenser mic but i think you will can not use on stage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic for home studio
Svetlin Simeonov, 14.02.2019
As you can see on YouTube , this is the most used microphone for home studios. Its very good especially when you have no proper acoustic treated room. The only downside is that you need very good preamp ( I am using GAP-73 ) so the final price is almost doubled - but the quality and sound are perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sounds lovely
Soundguyben, 24.02.2019
Great sounding mic. Perfect for home studio with little treatment. Great on wide variety of sources. Mainly use it for vocals. Has a very crisp 'Condenser-like' sound for a dynamic mic. One thing to note is you need a half decent pre-amp as it needs a lot of gain. Amazing mic though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great legendary mic!
JRL Sound Studio, 17.01.2019
Not only for vocals but for guitar/bass cabs, snares, trumpets, sax etc.

(beware of using a good and strong preamp for the job!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
More than deserving of its legendary status
16.03.2017
Everyone knows that the Shure SM7B is the microphone that was used to record the vocals on Michael Jackon's Thriller; and some might argue this is all you need to know. If you're looking for a robust and responsive vocal microphone this is a great choice. Unlike more traditional Large diaphragm condenser mics, and just like it's little brothers the SM57/58; the SM7B is a dynamic mic. This is great for bedroom producers who want to get quality recordings but struggle with acoustically untreated rooms and background noise. This has also made it a favorite for use on podcasts and radio shows. However the SM7B is more than just a vocal mic. It is brilliant at capturing low frequency content, making it a perfect kickdrum mic; but likewise has great response to highs and mids, recording resonant full-bodied acoustic instruments. In terms of features it comes attached to a mount, allowing for easy re-angling of the microphone; and on the back it has switchable high and low EQ shelves for shaping the frequency response. The only shortfall is that the mic needs a lot of gain to get a good signal, likely due to it not taking phantom power.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A great microphone, solid and easy to use
Emilia S., 09.09.2014
It's not hard to find a good recording setting with this one. It's great if your room doesn't have acoustic treatment, because it highly rejects room sounds if set up properly. The sound is quite warm and bassy, good for male singing and podcast/overdub. It's big and looks solid like a rock. You get a second pop screen for podcast use which promises to give you an even warmer/more bassy sound. I personally use this to record guitars in conjunction with a ribbon mic, to record my vocals, and as a substitute to sm57 when recording more twangy sounds full of top end, as it naturally tends to give a more mid-low punch and a top end roll off. Great microphone, and a standard for professional recording studios. Really worth the money, highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Still best sounding mic
Sr.Pancho, 21.10.2019
To my ears, this is the best sounding mic. It makes me sound like the fantasy I had in my head about my voice. Built to last.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does everything you need it to
Arch, 31.08.2017
Works excellently on Vocals, Snares, Hi Hats, and Guitar and Bass cabs as well. They're just the things I've tried it on. This mic is an excellent all-rounder. If you only buy one mic make it this one.

I especially like the 2 EQ options on the mic. The HPF helps to remove low end rumbles on vocals and guitars and the high mid boost adds some bit to your guitar tones when you want it to.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Must Have
pzerun, 21.02.2018
Designed for radio voices, but it has a lot of uses. A must have in my opinion for heavy vocals, screams, growls, any kind of heavy vocals. Works great for Hip Hop as well. You can use it for guitar tracking, drums shells, really you can't go wrong with this mic. Has a low cut and a mid range boost you can toggle on and off. GET THIS.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What a workhorse!
17.03.2014
Great mic for so many application! My favourite uses are as follows:

Guitar amp - slightly rounder sounding than an SM57, good for a slightly warmer tone. Works great for some rock and for a cleaner tone, if you're doing metal then stick to the SM57 as it's got a more cut!

Rock Vocals: Great SPL and warm tone for gritty male rock vocals! This thing will take whatever volume you throw at it and love it. The natural compression characteristics that you get inside a dynamic microphone work really nicely for a voice with gravel that can sometimes sound a little harsh in the upper mids. Works great for other male vocals as well, but especially for the gritty ones or full on screams.

HiHats: You'l think I'm crazy but if you take off the foam shield this is a fantastic hihat mic for a great rock sound. Again, just naturally compresses the signal a little and makes it warm and usable but still cut. Just takes a little bit of the harshness out and makes the hats sound a little more usable to me.

Its great on bass amps and some other sources but these are the main places that I find myself using it on a regular basis based on the kind of work I tend to get. All in all a great mic!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Affordable industry standard classic studio mic.
Declan Q., 16.10.2014
This is one of the only affordable mics you can get in this price range that has been used by all the great engineers, producers and artists for decades, (and still is).
For certain singers (Michael Jackson, Anthony Kiedis, Bjork to name but a few) and producers (Rick Rubin, Quincy Jones etc) the SM7 is preferred to the most expensive condenser mics.
Its dynamic so is great for micing in non-treated rooms or when recording a vocalist that's playing acoustic at the same time because it wont pick up the room and guitar as much as a condenser would.
The SM7 is a very affordable top of the range tool to have in any studio, professional or amateur.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
MICROPHONE OF THE STARS
Dicarlo, 25.06.2018
My dream microphone has always been a Neumann U-87. I finally bought one for my studio last year, and it is an amazing microphone, but not for every voice, because it?s very sensitive. I?d seen a few videos of Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters using an SM 7B in the studio, and did some research to find out what microphone it was. In my research I found the Green Day also records with the SM 7B, and Michael Jackson recorded the entire "Thriller" album with it. It?s a great alternative mic to the Neumann U-87, because it needs a LOT of gain 60db to even function, and you can literally get right up on it and scream without it clipping. And the sound quality is great. Very affordable microphone with amazing sound. Very happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sure SM7 B
17.03.2017
One of the best microphones ever made. Really a great mic for vocals in untreated home studios, really keeps the background noise down. Suggest to use a pre amp to boost the signal. It gets into the sound quality of a high priced Neumann without the expense. Many singers have recorded with this mic. Michael Jackson, Sheryl Crow, Jackson Browne etc... Easy to find the best setting for recording vocals.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
AlMos, 15.06.2018
Nothing to say. It's SM7 )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
excellent mic :)
Bohdan, 10.01.2019
i use it together with apollo twin and results are great :) clear sound, robust material, excellent in home production environment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super for untreated rooms
Endre Ottem, 14.08.2018
I bought this microphone for doing voice overs in an untreated office. It is perfect for my use. There's no background noise and it doesn't record reflections from the rear of the mic, so any sound bouncing from the back wall isn't recorded. It handles plosives very well even if you're not using a pop filter.

I was a bit confused that Thomann's product description indicates that the A7WS and the RK345 wind shields are NOT included, but they're indeed both included in the box - like they're meant to be.

I've attached my SM7B to a Rode PSA-1 table arm, which I highly recommend if you'll be using the SM7B at your desk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

$339 €307.56
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(9)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S300

Keyboard 61 Velocity-Sensitive keys, 48 Voice polyphony, 400 Sounds, 60 Preset-Songs, Reverb, Volume Sync EQ, Learning Function, Automatic accompaniment, 77 Preset rhythms, One-touch preset, Dance Music mode, Registering, Pitchbend wheel, Connect to the free Chordana Play For Keyboard learning...

Recently Viewed
Steinberg UR816C

16x16 USB 3.0 Audio Interface with iPad Connectivity 32-Bit integer / 192 kHz, 8 Class-A D-PRE mic preamp with +48 V phantom power, Latency-free DSP-assisted monitoring with REV-X Reverb, Channel Strip and Guitar Amp Classics - also included as...

Recently Viewed
Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio

Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio; Effects Pedal; 4.3" touch-enabled screen with color coded cues and waveforms; 6 parallel tracks and 6 song parts for a total of 36 distinct loops per song and in simultaneous parallel and sequential looping; Unlimited...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10II

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB, New amplifier models for electric guitar and bass, Microphone models for acoustics and flat voicings, 3 Amp modes per amp...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series

Electric guitar Body: Lime tree, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Double-action truss rod, 22 Frets, Pickups: 1 Humbucker (bridge) and 2...

Recently Viewed
Levys Pad. Garm. Leather Strap 3" BK

Strap for electric guitar and electric bass Strap material: Leather, Length adjustment: Ladder adjustment system, Upholstery: Foam, Width: 76 mm, Length adjustable from 94 cm to 130 cm, MSS2 BLK, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton PB-20 SBK Standard Series

Electric bass Body: Lime, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Scale: 864 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 20 Frets, Double-Action truss-rod, Pickup: 1 PB-Style split coil, 1 Volume and 1 tone control, Classic...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX12v3

12-Channel mixer 7 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ, 4 Inserts and 4 one-button compressors, Channels 5-10 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x 3.5 mm Stereo jack Line input, 2x4 USB Interface, Built-in GigFX effect unit with 24...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10IIW

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar Built-in wireless receiver compatible with the Line6 Relay G10 transmitter (Art.398255 - not included), Integrated rechargeable battery, 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, New...

Recently Viewed
Takamine TKSS3 Guitar Strap Grasflower

Guitar strap Made by Levy's, Material: Suede leather, Width: 7 cm, Length adjustable from 100 cm - 140 cm, With Takamine Logo, Design: Grasflower, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.