Shure SM 7 B

1084 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
The mic that doesn't mind getting yelled at.
Venzetti, 28.12.2015
I love this microphone. If you have the money available and you're into heavier music stop reading here and just buy it.

Now that the people that, in my opinion, this mic is perfect for are gone, let's get down to business.

This mic is clean, rich and very reliable. It not only feels sturdy, but it will usually avoid any background noise while recording, even when holding it in your hands, something a lot of heavy vocalists feel they need to do. This stops those headaches that can happen when you're in your home studio, you do the perfect vocal take and bam, someone closes a door half way through and it's ruined.

You may have guessed I use this mic for vocals mainly and you'd be correct. The music I write is usually aggressive, loud and this mic is perfect for it. However I have used it on pop tracks, grunge tracks and other lighter/moodier music and it also shines through there.

I've seen this mic used for micing guitar cabinets with high success although the sound is very niche so I wouldn't buy it just for that. Same with micing Toms. One of the main things I love about this microphone is because it feels so sturdy you're not afraid to use it anywhere and just see how it sounds.

I'm trying to find a negative about the mic and can think of very little. The wires on the side sometimes feel flimsy? But they've never broken or come loose and this mic has been beaten up royally by some vocalists.

Honestly if the good points I've brought to you perk your interest, just buy this microphone, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on the right source
WillO, 04.01.2017
I use this to track vocals, electric guitar and bass cabs, floor tom, kick and misc percussion instruments. It does very well in all these applications, it's a real workhorse. Plus, it impresses the clients.

It's not the most neutral mic, it has a 'sound'. Warm and vintagey, I suppose. Not as detailed as a condenser, but still surprisingly detailed for a dynamic mic. On the right source, it often sounds 'right' straight away, I guess that's because I've been listening to it on countless records all my life! It takes EQ and compression well in the mix, and usually sits really well with a minimum of pulling and dragging.

It doesn't work on everything, I've found it to be pretty poor on acoustic guitar for example, and it often loses out to LDCs on vocals. BUT, on the right voice, it's terrific.

It's decent on floor tom, although it seems to pick up a lot of spill from the rest of the kit, snare and hi-hat especially.

If a band want to track a song live, I tend to use the sm7b on the lead vocals as it sounds great, but doesn't pick up as much bleed as an LDC would. For the same reason, it's great for recording in untreated rooms.

I like it a lot on guitar and bass amps, much more than the sm57.

For vocals, I use it with a GAP Pre73 mkiii that provides more than enough gain. For loud sources like drums and amps, my Focusrite Scarlett and Presonus D8 preamps have provided plenty of gain when the Pre73 was on other duties. It sounds 'darker' through the Pre73 than the other preamps.

For me, this has been a worthwhile investement. The only problem is now I want more large diaphragm dynamics!

Pros - versatile studio workhorse with a classic sound. Great on the right source.
Cons - requires a preamp with plenty of gain to reach its full potential.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pristine recording worth every penny.
Angus M,, 25.12.2020
For anyone wishing to really up their recording quality, this microphone is fantastic. I regularly give talks/presentations, record voiceovers and use the microphone for gaming... and I am regularly asked what my audio setup is because of how great it sounds (which definitely wasn't the case before - using inbuilt headphone or clip-on/mod microphones). I pair the microphone with a GOXLR, and apply a pretty standard "California smile" EQ. Within about 30-40 minutes I had unpacked the kit, run the cables, mounted the boom arm to my desk and had it set up to easily a broadcast quality... and since then tinkering and getting to know the system better it has only improved.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wonderful performance
Mohammed Hamed, 21.02.2021
This’s exactly what I was looking for , great performance great sound quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
nick808, 21.02.2021
by far the best dynamic mic for recording metal vocals!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Famous Legend Microphone and sound
Cris Christopher, 23.06.2020
Use
I bought this especially for my online music lessons, singing lessons, vocal recording, and instrument recording. This a beautiful microphone. The package comes with helpful accessories especially the 2 microphone windshield. The first one is attached to the microphone which is good for singing, talking, and instruments. The second one is very good for podcasting, speaking, live streaming, etc. It gives you more intimate sound, more present especially for talking. If you are on a budget I would highly recommend this or keep this in your future purchase.

Just a piece of advice, this microphone is heavy, so make sure to but a good quality desk microphone arm/ microphone stand.

Pros
Beautiful, sturdy, Amazing quality sound, Really good for Online lessons and recording. Good price, Easy to set up with complete accessories you need.

Cons
None
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A season Pro
Joe Cromwell , 18.01.2021
This really is a great microphone, i use it for recording vocals, and acoustic guitar and also for podcasting.

Its a solid build, great for low background noise, needs a lot of gain though so if its to be plugged into an audio interface for the PC i would suggest a cloud lifter of some sort to enhance the gain. very happy with this product! side note, it is quite weighty, so just check you get a good quality mike boom arm so it doesn't drop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does it really need a review?
roccapl, 28.11.2020
This microphone is always in the list of the top microphones to have in any studio. While it's well known for its use on radio and broadcast it can be used on any sound source (especially sweet in the kick drum) and, being a dynamic, it works better than some condenser microphones in environments in which separation or noise are a problem. If you use it with voice or quiet sources, Just be sure to use a preamp with a lot of gain with it or those tiny inline things like the Triton Fet-Head, the Cloudfilter or the SE Electronics Dynamite.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Must have!
mperaldo, 19.01.2021
Home studio, vlogger, professional sound engineer, commercial studio, everybody should have one!
I use it mainly on vocals, it is perfect for recording in non treated rooms.
It is a pretty versatile mic, you can achieve great results on a large amount of sources.
Use it with a db booster to have a more clean and consistent signal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Classic mic
DSFM, 31.01.2021
I use it for voiceover work.
You see this being used everywhere for a good reason. Excellent build quality (it's heavy), sound quality, plosive rejection, and low noise.
Low output, so you will might need to pair it with something like the Fethead.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
very good
MOHNNAD, 04.02.2021
it's good thing and i'm very happy with it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank. This mic is gonna last forever
ArisD, 26.08.2020
The sound quality of this product is exactly what you'd expect. Professional, clean and robust. So far I've just used it on Voice Over and it has performed well. I recorded a little bit of vocals through it and I can tell it will be excellent at this too. I do wish the filters were a bit easier to adjust, but I understand why they are engineered as they are. It is to prevent someone from accidentally changing the filters/roll off. I think the product is worth the price, especially if you haven't already invested in a lot of other dynamic mics.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It is what they say it is
Ghost Town Kermit, 17.12.2020
I run an internet radio station and was looking to upgrade my main mic from the Rode NT1A I was using because the Rode just picks up too much ambient noise. I got the SM7B and a Thomann FetAmp to go with it and I am so glad I did. My voice sounds so much better and fuller than before. I have an RE20 and a Procaster in the studio as well but this is the one for me. It sounds, looks and feels like quality. Because it is.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great addition to a home studio
GSB , 30.11.2020
Decided to pull the trigger on this after using cheap condenser mics, it has been a revelation!! No more honky vocals now!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
amazing
Audiofrequence, 16.12.2020
incredible insulation, never a mechanical noise when touching the mic.
The sound is so smooth, a pleasure to hear from this mic.
It was the choice of Michael Jackson, and I know why now.
A powerful preamp is needed because the sensitivity is quite low, a Scarlet is a little weak for podcasting. A Fethead or Cloudlifter could help in case of lowcost preamp, but with a good one, you don't need that booster. I use a Sonosax or a Focusrite Isa and that's perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
JohnESummers, 03.12.2020
Fantastic mic. Great for spoken word and singing. good room noise rejection and nice sound reproduction
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect choice
norbert hollo, 15.01.2018
this is the perfect choice for my voice. i bought it without testing before but much better that i thought. the mic has a little compressor effect and smoothing the spikes in the recorded sound that much more easier to set the expected volume. the original windshields a little smashes the sound but if you use a simple popfilter instead the result much better. other important thing is the volume level. you will need a lot of power for it. i have an apogee and an apollo audio interface as well and they have enough gain to record without mic preamp but most of the cheaper interfaces that use directly pick up too much noise. it's a dynamic mic with cardioid characteristic but plenty collect outer noises. not like a condenser mic but i think you will can not use on stage.

a year ago I bought an apogee element interface and realized that the uad apollo interfaces has not enough gain for it and the sound a little bit drowned because the element get me a surprisingly better results (on element able to set +75dB gain instead of the apollo's 65dB and the apogee one's 62dB) the noise completely disappeared and the sound much more opened. so my opinion is if you don't want to buy a preamp the only solution an apogee interface like duet 2 or better (didn't found any other interface that more than 65dB)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM 7 B
Nice sound, 04.12.2020
Great for all recordings with proximity effect and for podcasting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
More than deserving of its legendary status
16.03.2017
Everyone knows that the Shure SM7B is the microphone that was used to record the vocals on Michael Jackon's Thriller; and some might argue this is all you need to know. If you're looking for a robust and responsive vocal microphone this is a great choice. Unlike more traditional Large diaphragm condenser mics, and just like it's little brothers the SM57/58; the SM7B is a dynamic mic. This is great for bedroom producers who want to get quality recordings but struggle with acoustically untreated rooms and background noise. This has also made it a favorite for use on podcasts and radio shows. However the SM7B is more than just a vocal mic. It is brilliant at capturing low frequency content, making it a perfect kickdrum mic; but likewise has great response to highs and mids, recording resonant full-bodied acoustic instruments. In terms of features it comes attached to a mount, allowing for easy re-angling of the microphone; and on the back it has switchable high and low EQ shelves for shaping the frequency response. The only shortfall is that the mic needs a lot of gain to get a good signal, likely due to it not taking phantom power.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can do everything with this great mic.
Georgy B, 28.02.2020
If you're running a small project or home studio with little acoustic treatment, you can't go wrong with this mic. I use it for podcast, as a room mic and of course for what is most known for, vocals and voice overs on Youtube. Make sure you get a good audio interface or consider adding Cloudlifter or Fethead. Team at Thomann also very helpful and had a fast delivery!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
plug, play and smile
Scotland rises, 17.07.2020
I don't even need to review this.
Look at pro studios globally, watch interviews with stars, watch recording legends in studio videos and you'll see them wailing at this mic, and with good cause........
it responds, and captures everything you want, it's rich, it's clear, it's worth every cent.
Stand back and wail, or get up close and whisper in it's ear
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very well made microphone.
Laard, 03.10.2020
Standard microphone in every studio. Very versatile, but does not do miracles. All in all, great microphone!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic saved me a client!
ScottM, 27.03.2014
Built like a tank, with good audio quality, the Shure SM7B saved a good client for me.

My profession is voice over. For those who do not know that term - I speak for a living doing corporate narrations and such.

A few years ago I got a job recording a narration for one of my favorite clients. The job was at a studio that was new to me. For some reason, though I am almost never nervous before a job - I was for this one.

One of my coaches suggested that I stand when reading the text instead of sitting, so I though to give that a try. There were many script changes at the last minute and the text I was given was very difficult to read while holding in one hand.

That made me even more nervous. The mic in the studio was a Neumann U47, or a very good clone of one. The sound was wonderful from the audio chain, but my performance was not.

Got a copy of the recording and brought it home to give it a listen. It stank!

However, I had just received my Shure SM7B the day before. And though my room was not acoustically treated I decided to rerecord the narration using the Shure.

My performance was 100 percent better than on the U47. Being a dynamic mic the SM7B is more forgiving for a room that is not very well treated. It greatly reduced the room sound, compared to using a condenser mic in the same space. Sent off the new recording to the producer. The end of the story was a happy one: the producer was happy, I was happy and most importantly, the client was happy.

This mic saved me from losing one of my favorite clients!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My preciousss
Muldor, 01.10.2019
Couple things when looked up close: The 'mid-boost' isn't a boost but a cut; with the switch placed on 'flat' it takes out a couple of db's that could just as easily be equalised after recording, leave it on 'boost' I dare say.

This mike needs some serious encouragement, about 60 dB's. Most microphone amps are great until 40 dB of amplification, above that their quality drops significant, invest in an head amp.

And since this is a dynamic, transformerless moving coil microphone the cable attached to it becomes a part of the signal chain that defines the characteristics of the sound, just like a guitar. The cartridge gives the best response with a short cable; 500 pF terminated with 5 Kohm gives a ruler flat response, assumed that the advertised 150 Ohm impedance is measured at 1 Khz implying the cartridge has an inductance of 24 mH.

All in all the mother of dynamic microphones that sounds great without low- or mid cut, excellent protected against vowel noise and placed shock-proof in a serious sturdy housing. What more to wish? Maybe a build in head amp?

Pros: this is _the_ pro.
Cons: I need more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I have tried many microphones over the year but this one is the one I like the most. The good looking, the sound and materials quality. Does not alternate the tone of your voice and captures every single detail. Is a little bit heavy meaning you need to get a good mic stand, otherwise just amazing. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM 7 B

$398
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
Roland FP-30X BK

Roland FP-30X BK; Digital Piano; 88 keys PHA-4 keybed with Ivory Feel; Sound engine: 12 SuperNATURAL Piano tones, 20 E-Piano tones and 24 other tones; max. polyphony: 256 voices; Bluetooth Audio (V3.0) and Bluetooth MIDI (V4.0); build-in speaker system (two...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Rode VXLR Pro

Rode VXLR Pro; Plug adaptor with transformer and power converter; TRS mini jack (3.5mm) to XLR3M; integrated voltage converter from phantom power (12 - 48V) to plug-in power (4V); for connecting VideoMic, VideoMic GO, VideoMicro, VideoMic Pro, VideoMic Pro+, VideoMic...

Recently Viewed
Zoom Am7

Zoom Am7, mid-side stereo microphone for Andriod devices; USB type C connection; 90º / 120º / M-S mode switchable; max. SPL: 120dB; resolution: 44.1kHz / 16Bit, 48kHz / 16Bit; for creating videos, podcasts, vlogs and more; two modes: audio and...

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia AXE I/O + AmpliTube 5 MAX

USB 2.0 Audio Interface with Guitar Effects Software Audio interface specially designed for guitarists, 2 Inputs for instrument-, line- and microphone signals with discrete class-A preamps and switchable 48 V phantom power, Hi-Z instrument inputs at the front, of...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Dante AVIO Bluetooth IO Adapter 2x1

Bluetooth Adapter For the connection of a computer, tablet or smartphone to a Dante network via Bluetooth, Ideal for recording or playing back a stereo signal, Robust housing, Fully-functional Dante interface, Transmits 2 inputs and 1 output with 48...

Recently Viewed
Showtec ACT Fresnel 50 WW

Showtec ACT Fresnel 50 WW; DMX controlled Fresnel theater spot complete with barndoor, filter frame and 1.5 m connection cable; 40 W COB LED; Color temperature: 3200 K; Luminous flux: 3400 lm; manual zoom (10 ° - 58 °); manual...

Recently Viewed
Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Light Stand Kit

Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Light Stand Kit; light and speaker stand with light adapter; set consisting of the Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Lighting Stand B and the Stageworx TS-1 Light Adapter:; Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Lighting Stand B:; professional and stable light stand;...

Recently Viewed
Erica Synths Black Joystick 2

Erica Synths Black Joystick 2; Eurorack module; Joystick with 8 CV outputs (4 channels, each with outputs for X and Y axis); 2 Gate outputs; Joystick motion recorder with 8 sec. recording time for each channel; LFO and Drone Oscillator...

Recently Viewed
Behringer MO240

Behringer MO240 - In-Ear Monitoring Earphones; 1x dynamic and 1x balanced armature; Impedance: 32 Ohms; Frequency response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz; max. SPL 102 dB; cable length: 1.5 m; 3.5 mm stereo jack; colour: black; incl. gold plated 6.3...

Recently Viewed
Roland FP-30X WH

Roland FP-30X WH; Digital Piano; 88 keys PHA-4 keybed with Ivory Feel; Sound engine: 12 SuperNATURAL Piano tones, 20 E-Piano tones and 24 other tones; max. polyphony: 256 voices; Bluetooth Audio (V3.0) and Bluetooth MIDI (V4.0); build-in speaker system (two...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Black Lion Audio Revolution 2x2

USB2.0 Audio Interface High-quality, two-channel recording solution with combined microphone and instrument inputs, Balanced signal path and high quality microphone preamplifier, Precise Macro-MMC clock, Power supply filtered with PG-i technology, Direct monitoring with mix control and mono switch, AD...

Recently Viewed
Elation KL Fresnel 150W 6" CW

Elation KL Fresnel 150 W 6" CW; LED Fresnel spotlight incl. barn door and colour filter frame; infinitely variable manual zoom from 15° to 38°; homogeneous 16-bit dimming; dimmer mode, dimmer curve and dimmer delay can be adjusted according to...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.